Algorithmic Trading Tips 09.

UNLEASH THE FORWARD CURVE.

HOW TO VISUALIZE FORWARD CURVES TO MAXIMIZE INFORMATION.

As a futures traders you are definitely familiar with a forward curve chart. It shows the prices of the next contracts and sometimes gives an indication where the market might be headed in the longer term. This Trading Tips issue shows you how to display and use a Forward Curve efficiently.

WATCH VIDEO NOW. (6 minutes to improve your performance.)

By downloading you agree to the terms of use below.

Futures traders are definitely familiar with a forward curve chart. It shows the prices of the next contracts and sometimes gives an indication where the market might be headed in the longer term.
To display a forward curve in Tradesignal:

  • 01 Click the Forward Curve icon in the ribbon bar
  • 02 Enter the instrument code, for example a RIC like ‘CL’ for Light Crude Oil if you are using Thomson Reuters data or ‘CL1’ if you are a Bloomberg customer. Instead of entering an instrument code you may also select an instrument from one of your instrument lists, right-click and choose “open as forward curve”
  • 03 Finally press Next and Finish.

 

A new chart opens up and it shows you the forward curve of the selected contract.

FIG. 1: THE STANDARD FORWARD CURVE; CREATED BY USING THOMSON REUTERS HISTORICAL DATA.

The above chart depicts today’s price of each contract traded. As you can see from the scale, the chart starts with March 2013 contract and ends with the mid 2019 contract.

You can combine this type of forward curve chart with a “normal” futures chart with Tradesignal. Hence, you are able to display the current and historic prices of the current futures contract and also see the prices of the upcoming contracts in one chart (contango or backwardation for your futures contract).

Open up a chart of any futures contract. This can be a continuous contract or a dedicated contract. In my case I use CLc1, a RIC from Thomson Reuters.

  • 01 Go to your list of indicators and look for the “forward curve” indicator;
  • 02 Drag and drop this indicator onto the chart. Now Tradesignal will take some time to process all contracts of these futures and derive the relevant forward curve.
  • 03 When you see the forward curve – simply drag and drop it from its sub-chart to the main chart window respectively drag and drop it on the same axis where your futures is. This gives you the following graph:

FIG. 2. TRADESIGNAL’S FORWARD CURVE APPLIED TO A “NORMAL” CHART.

As you can see both charts – the “normal” Crude Oil chart and the corresponding Forward Curve – are now seamlessly integrated. Now it’s easier to recognize where prices come from and where they might go.

Take care, take profit.
Philipp Kahler

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Distribution allowed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Tradesignal® is a registered trademark of Tradesignal GmbH. Unauthorized use or misuse is specifically prohibited. All other protected brands and trademarks mentioned in this document conform, without restriction, to the provisions of applicable trademark law and the copyrights of the respective registered owners.

Tradesignal Ltd. obtains information from sources it considers reliable, but does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of its information contained therein. Tradesignal Ltd. and its affiliates make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, with respect to the information or analysis supplied herein, including without limitation the implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and merchantability, and each specifically disclaims any such warranty. In no event shall Tradesignal Ltd. or its affiliates be liable to for any decision made or action taken in reliance upon the information contained herein, lost profits or any indirect, consequential, special or incidental damages, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, even if advised of the possibility of such damages. This material does not constitute an offer or a solicitation of an offer or a recommendation to buy or sell securities. All expressions of opinion are subject to change without notice.

This code is provided free of charge and “as is”, without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and noninfringement. In no event, shall Tradesignal Ltd. be liable for any claim, damages or other liability, whether in an action of contract, tort or otherwise, arising from, or of or in connection with this code or the use of this code.

.

mattis leo. tempus fringilla sed tristique consequat. justo Aliquam velit, libero. Aenean

Algorithmic Trading Tips 09.

FORWARD CURVES ANALYSIEREN.

WIE SIE DEN CHART MIT EINER FORWARD CURVE IN DIE ZUKUNFT VERLÄNGERN.

Als Händler von Futures-Kontrakten ist Ihnen eine Forward Curve sicherlich vertraut. Sie zeigt Ihnen nicht den Kursverlauf des aktuellen Front Month-Kontrakts, sondern den aktuellen Kurs der Kontrakte mit längeren Fristigkeiten. Wie Sie diese Chartart als Ausblick auf die langfristige Preisentwicklung verwenden, dass sehen und lesen Sie hier.

VIDEO JETZT ANSEHEN. (6 Minuten, die Ihre Performance verbessern können.)

Mit dem Download erkennen Sie die unten aufrufbaren Nutzungsbedingungen an.

ABB. 1: FORWARD CURVE DES LIGHT SWEET CRUDE OIL FUTURES, REUTERS RIC: CLC1.

Um in Tradesignal eine solche Forward Curve anzuzeigen, selektieren Sie einfach eine Kursliste mit den entsprechenden Futures und öffnen diese Liste durch einen rechten Mausklick als Forward Kurve. Alternativ können Sie auch die entsprechende Schaltfläche „Forward Curve“ in der Symbolliste anklicken.

Dieser Chart zeigt Ihnen zum Beispiel die monatlichen Kontrakte für Light Sweet Crude Oil (Reuters RIC: CL). Er startet mit dem aktuellen März-Kontrakt 2013 und setzt sich fort bis Mitte 2019.

Ein besonderes Feature von Tradesignal ist, dass Sie die Forward Curve im normalen Kurs-Chart anzeigen können, d. h. nicht als einzelnen Chart, sondern zusätzlich zum Chart des aktuellen Kontrakts.

Öffnen Sie dazu den Chart eines Futures. Dies kann der aktuelle Future sein oder auch ein Endloskontrakt. Anschließend gehen Sie in die Liste der Indikatoren und ziehen den „Forward Curve“-Indikator auf den Chart.

ABB. 2: TAGES-CHART VON LIGHT CRUDE OIL PLUS DER DAZU GEHÖRIGEN FORWARD CURVE BIS INS JAHR 2019.

Zunächst wird die Forward Kurve unter dem eigentlichen Kurschart abgebildet; als so genannter Sub-Chart. Ziehen Sie diese Kurve bei gedrückter linker Maustaste nach oben auf den eigentlichen Chart bzw. auf die dazu gehörige Kursachse. Anschließend sollte Ihr Chart so aussehen wie dieser hier in Abb. 2.

Beim ersten Mal benötigt Tradesignal einige Sekunden, um alle zu diesem Future gehörenden Einzelkontrakte in die Datenbank zu laden. Wenn Sie diesen Chart das nächste Mal öffnen, geht alles deutlich schneller. Viel Erfolg beim Blick in die Zukunft.

Take care, take profit und auf Wiedersehen.
Philipp Kahler

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Dieses Werk bzw. dessen Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Unported Lizenz:
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/deed.de

Tradesignal® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Tradesignal GmbH. Nicht autorisierte Nutzung oder Missbrauch ist ausdrücklich verboten. Alle weiteren auf diesen Seiten genannten und ggf. durch Dritte geschützten Marken- und Warenzeichen unterliegen uneingeschränkt den Bestimmungen des jeweils gültigen Kennzeichenrechts und den Besitzrechten der jeweiligen eingetragenen Eigentümer.

Tradesignal Ltd. erhält Informationen aus Quellen, die es für zuverlässig hält, übernimmt jedoch keine Garantie für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der darin enthaltenen Informationen. Tradesignal Ltd. und ihre verbundenen Unternehmen stellen keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen oder Analysen dar, einschließlich der implizierten Garantien für die Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und die Handelsüblichkeit. Tradesignal Ltd. oder ihre verbundenen Unternehmen haften in keinem Fall für Entscheidungen oder Maßnahmen, die im Vertrauen auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen, entgangene Gewinne oder indirekte, Folgeschäden, besondere oder zufällige Schäden, sei es im Vertrag, in unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, getroffen werden, auch wenn auf die Möglichkeit solcher Schäden hingewiesen wird. Dieses Material stellt weder ein Angebot noch eine Aufforderung zur Abgabe eines Angebots oder eine Empfehlung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Wertpapieren dar. Alle Äußerungen sind freibleibend.

Die Equilla Codes werden kostenlos und „wie besehen“ zur Verfügung gestellt, ohne Gewährleistung jeglicher Art, ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Garantien der Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und Nichtverletzung. In keinem Fall haftet Tradesignal Ltd. für Ansprüche, Schäden oder sonstige Haftung, sei es in einer Vertragsklage, unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, die sich aus oder im Zusammenhang mit diesem Code oder der Verwendung dieses Codes ergibt.

mattis id nec elementum efficitur. Nullam non ultricies commodo lectus Donec