Algorithmic Trading Tips 11.

SELL IN MAY AND GO AWAY?

HOW TO PROFIT FROM SEASONAL PATTERNS.

Every year, the old adage “Sell in May and go away” is widely discussed in the financial media. But is this adage reality or just a myth? And can this simple seasonal strategy work at all if everyone knows it? Using Tradesignal; traders, portfolio managers and analysts can examine these and other seasonal pricing anomalies quickly and safely to improve their investment decisions.

WATCH VIDEO NOW. (4 minutes to improve your performance.)

By downloading you agree to the terms of use below.

Empirical evidence for summer weakness.

In 1964 the Financial Times wrote about the “Sell in May” effect, it took decades for the academic world to study this phenomenon, which says shares should be avoided during the summer months. The most comprehensive study on this subject was published in 2002 (The study can be downloaded here.). The research duo Sven Bouman and Ben Jacobsen examined a total of 37 international stock market indices of different industrialised and emerging countries and calculated the respective performance and risk figures for the period from November to April (winter period) and the period from May to October (summer period) in order to compare them.

The results were clear: 36 of the 37 examined stock markets revealed a significant “Sell in May” effect, that is the performance of a buy-and-hold investor was worse than that of the investor, who did not hold any shares in the months of May through October and re-boarding in November to stay invested until the end of April. Also, from a risk perspective, the winter period turned out to be a better choice over the summer period: The standard deviation was lower for the “sell in May” strategy compared to the passive buy-and-hold approach.

Seasonal indicator in the practical test.

To ensure the extent to which the seasonal pattern still works today, every trader should create their own analysis. One possibility here is the application of an indicator, which enables you to visualize such a seasonal pattern in no time at all. Figure 1 shows the seasonal pattern of the Dow Jones Industrial Average on the basis of the last 10, 20, 30 and 40 years. The result confirms the formation of a major high between late April and mid-May and the subsequent sideways or downward movement of the stock markets in the summer months. At the same time the formation of a seasonal low typically can be observed at the beginning of October. However, interestingly, is the fact that this pattern has not undergone any great variations with time.

FIG. 1: SEASONAL PATTERN FOR DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

The old adage “Sell in May and go away” is reflected in reality. In the last decades, the Dow Jones performed significantly weaker between May and September than between October and April.

 

Trading strategy code in Equilla.

Whether you want to use this information as a filter for other trading signals or for adjustment of the position size to the seasonal trend – using Tradesignal the implementation of the “Sell in May” strategy into a program code and the subsequent evaluation is a simple task. For this purpose, just copy and paste the following code as a new trading strategy and store it for later use. The process is explained in detail in our Trading Tips video.

The following program lines contain the instructions for the long entry at the beginning of October and getting out again in early May. Of course, further components such as a trend filter or an initial stop can be implemented – for our present purpose it was intentionally waived.

Meta:

Synopsis(​​ "Use this dashboard in a Watch List or in a Market Scanner. It displays conditions of 4 indicators (RSI, MACD, Slow Stochastics, Bollinger Bands) simultaneously. If the​​ indicator is in a buy condition, the cell is colored green. If it is in a sell condition the cell is colored red. The conditions are as shown below under the 'conditions' section."​​ ),

SubChart(​​ False​​ ),

ShortCode(​​ "SBDB"​​ );

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ 

Input:​​ 

P_RSI(14),P_MACD_fast(12),P_MACD_slow(26),P_MACD_trigger(9),P_BB(20),P_SS(3),

 ​​ ​​ ​​​​ greenColor(​​ ColorDarkGreen​​ ),redColor(​​ DarkRed​​ ),​​ FlatColor(​​ transparent​​ ),lookback(1),realtime(true),

Period(​​ NumericSimple​​ );

 

Variables:

Draw_all(true),

color,

result,

farbe,

summe,

rsivalue,

triggervalue,

bblower,

bbupper,

slow_k,

diff,

displace;

if​​ realtime​​ then​​ displace=0​​ else​​ displace=1;

summe=0;

 

rsiValue​​ =​​ RSIClassic(​​ close,​​ P_RSI );

color​​ =​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ >​​ 70,​​ redColor,​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ <​​ 30,​​ greenColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ >​​ 70,​​ summe-1,​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ <​​ 30,​​ summe+1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( rsiValue[displace],​​ "RSIC",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

result​​ =​​ MACD(​​ Close,​​ P_MACD_Fast,​​ P_MACD_Slow );

triggerValue​​ =​​ XAverage( result,​​ P_MACD_trigger );

color​​ =​​ Iff(( result[displace]​​ >​​ 0​​ ),​​ greenColor,​​ Iff( result[displace]​​ <​​ 0​​ ,​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff((result[displace]​​ >​​ 0​​ ),​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(result[displace]​​ <​​ 0​​ ,​​ summe-1,​​ summe​​ ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( result[displace],​​ "MACD",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

bblower​​ =​​ BollingerBand(​​ close,​​ P_BB, -2​​ );

bbupper​​ =​​ BollingerBand(​​ close,​​ P_BB,​​ 2​​ );

color​​ =​​ Iff(​​ close​​ <​​ bblower[displace],​​ greenColor,​​ Iff(​​ close​​ >​​ bbupper[displace],​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff(​​ close​​ <​​ bblower[displace],​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(​​ close​​ >​​ bbupper[displace],​​ summe-1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( bblower[displace],​​ "BB_low",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw(​​ bbupper[displace],​​ "BB_upper",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

 

slow_k​​ =​​ SlowK( P_SS );

color​​ =​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ <​​ 20,​​ greenColor,​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ >​​ 80,​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ <​​ 20,​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(​​ slow_k[displace]​​ >​​ 80,​​ summe-1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( slow_k[displace],​​ "Stoch K",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

 

if​​ summe​​ >3​​ then​​ farbe=ColorForestgreen;

if​​ summe​​ >2​​ and​​ summe​​ <=3​​ then​​ farbe=green;

if​​ summe​​ >0​​ and​​ summe​​ <=2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorGreen;

if​​ summe​​ =0​​ then​​ farbe=white;

if​​ summe​​ <0​​ and​​ summe​​ >=-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorFireBrick;

if​​ summe​​ <-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorMaroon;​​ 

 

​​ if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( summe,​​ "Sum",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ farbe );

 

diff=summe-summe[lookback];

 

if​​ diff​​ >3​​ then​​ farbe=ColorForestgreen;

if​​ diff​​ >2​​ and​​ diff​​ <=3​​ then​​ farbe=green;

if​​ diff​​ >0​​ and​​ diff​​ <=2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorGreen;

if​​ diff​​ =0​​ then​​ farbe=white;

if​​ diff​​ <0​​ and​​ diff​​ >=-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorFireBrick;

if​​ diff​​ <-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorMaroon;​​ 

 

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw(​​ diff,​​ "Difference",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ farbe );

 

CODE 1: SELL IN MAY TRADING STRATEGY.

This simple code contains the instruction for long entry in early May while the exit takes place in early October.

 

Let’s take a look at how the equity curve of this primitive seasonal approach would have developed in the past for the DAX. Figure 2 shows impressively that staying away from the stock market during the summer months on balance represented a good decision. On the basis of the equity curve you can see that this simple trading rule has outperformed a passive buy- and-hold investment in the DAX over the last 20 years both in terms of performance and on the basis of volatility.

FIG. 2: SELL IN MAY STRATEGY APPLIED TO GERMAN XETRA DAX INDEX.

The simple “Sell in May” strategy has beaten a passive buy-and-hold approach for the DAX in the last 20 years.

This statement is also true for other benchmarks like the S&P 500. Especially in bear market phases the long exit by the end of April turned out to be an excellent timing signal, since the majority of the drawdowns could be avoided by following the “Sell in May” approach – the summer months of 1990, 2001, 2002 and 2008 serve as good examples here.

Admittedly one thing may not be concealed at this point: No seasonal pattern is set in concrete! While skipping the summer months has been of beneficial in strong downward phases, in certain bull market years, the flip side of the coin is evident: An investor who followed the “Sell in May” strategy in the years 1993, 1997 or 2005 and 2012 missed significant gains.

What does the performance report say?

Finally let us analyze the results. By clicking on the performance button Tradesignal provides a detailed insight into dozens of key figures such as:

  • Net profit / loss
  • Hit rate
  • Profit Factor
  • Maximum Drawdown

 

For the DAX, the “Sell in May” approach can be summarized as follows: Since 1991, 22 trades were carried out – 19 of which ended with a positive result. Excluding transaction costs, a net gain of around 12000 points total was generated, the largest drawdown was around 3100 points. Figure 3 shows an excerpt of the performance report – this time for the Dow Jones Industrial Average since 1950.

FIG. 3: PERFORMANCE REPORT FOR THE DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

The “Sell in May” strategy has achieved a hit rate of almost 75 percent since 1950.

With a hit rate of 75 per cent, the seasonal strategy was successful. The report also includes another important message: The “Sell in May” strategy generated four false signals in a row in the late seventies – proof that the seasonal approach by no means has to work every year.

 

Conclusion.

The reasons for the “Sell in May” or Halloween effect still aren`t exactly clear, but one cannot be dismissed out of hand: In the past, the famous adage of selling at the beginning of May and reentering the stock market in October very often proved to be the right decision. However, it must be noted that the assessment of these seasonal strategy greatly depends both on the chosen market and the investment period. Basically, this price anomaly is a kind of loss limiting approach, which also has its price if the market rises over the summer. With Tradesignal almost all price patterns and trading approaches can be translated in clear, rule-based strategies and tested so that wrong decisions can be eliminated. By the way, if you need any help, just contact our support team and we would be pleased to contribute to your success.

That`s it for today. Take care, take profit.
David Pieper

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Distribution allowed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Tradesignal® is a registered trademark of Tradesignal GmbH. Unauthorized use or misuse is specifically prohibited. All other protected brands and trademarks mentioned in this document conform, without restriction, to the provisions of applicable trademark law and the copyrights of the respective registered owners.

Tradesignal Ltd. obtains information from sources it considers reliable, but does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of its information contained therein. Tradesignal Ltd. and its affiliates make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, with respect to the information or analysis supplied herein, including without limitation the implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and merchantability, and each specifically disclaims any such warranty. In no event shall Tradesignal Ltd. or its affiliates be liable to for any decision made or action taken in reliance upon the information contained herein, lost profits or any indirect, consequential, special or incidental damages, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, even if advised of the possibility of such damages. This material does not constitute an offer or a solicitation of an offer or a recommendation to buy or sell securities. All expressions of opinion are subject to change without notice.

This code is provided free of charge and “as is”, without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and noninfringement. In no event, shall Tradesignal Ltd. be liable for any claim, damages or other liability, whether in an action of contract, tort or otherwise, arising from, or of or in connection with this code or the use of this code.

.

porta. sem, tristique elementum Lorem eleifend non eget id,

Algorithmic Trading Tips 11.

SELL IN MAY AND GO AWAY?

SO ERKENNEN SIE SAISONALE MUSTER AN DEN KAPITALMÄRKTEN.

Alle Jahre wieder wird die alte Börsenweisheit „Sell in May and go away“ in den Finanzmedien ausgiebig diskutiert. Aber stimmt diese Börsenweisheit überhaupt und kann diese simple Saison-Strategie überhaupt funktionieren, wenn sie doch jeder kennt? Mit Tradesignal können Trader, Portfoliomanager und Analysten diese und andere saisonale Kursanomalien schnell und sicher auf Herz und Nieren prüfen und in ihre Anlageentscheidungen mit einbeziehen.

VIDEO JETZT ANSEHEN. (4 Minuten, die Ihre Performance verbessern können.)

Mit dem Download erkennen Sie die unten aufrufbaren Nutzungsbedingungen an.

SOMMERSCHWÄCHE EMPIRISCH BELEGT.

Wenngleich schon im Jahr 1964 in der Financial Times vom „Sell in may“-Effekt die Rede war, dauerte es Jahrzehnte bis auch die akademische Welt mit der Erforschung dieses Phänomens begann, wonach Aktien in den Sommermonaten gemieden werden sollten. Die wohl umfassendste Untersuchung zu diesem Thema wurde im Jahr 2002 veröffentlicht. Die Studie können Sie hier downloaden. Das Forscherduo Sven Bouman und Ben Jacobsen nahm hierbei insgesamt 37 internationale Aktienindizes unterschiedlicher Industrie- und Schwellenländer unter die Lupe und berechnete die jeweiligen Performance- und Risikokennzahlen für den Zeitraum November bis April (Winterperiode) und den Zeitraum Mai bis Oktober (Sommerperiode), um diese anschließend miteinander zu vergleichen.

Die Ergebnisse fielen eindeutig aus: Bei 36 der 37 untersuchten Aktienmärkte konnte ein signifikanter „Sell in May“-Effekt eindeutig nachgewiesen werden, d.h. die Performance eines Buy-and-Hold-Anlegers fiel schlechter aus als die des Anlegers, der keine Aktien in den Monaten Mai bis einschließlich Oktober hielt und erst im November wieder einstieg, um wiederum bis Ende April investiert zu bleiben. Auch unter Risikoaspekten entpuppte sich die Winterperiode als bessere Wahl gegenüber der Sommerperiode. So fiel die Standardabweichung bei Anwendung der Sell-in-MayStrategie im Vergleich zur passiven Buy-and-Hold-Variante ausnahmslos niedriger aus.

 

SEASONAL INDIKATOR IM PRAXISTEST.

Die Erkenntnisse liefern also überzeugende Argumente für die Beachtung des altehrwürdigen Börsen-Bonmots. Um sicherzustellen, inwieweit das saisonale Muster auch heute noch greift, sollte jeder Trader eigene Analysen anstellen. Eine Möglichkeit ist hierbei die Anwendung eines Indikators, welcher die bequeme Visualisierung eben solcher saisonalen Muster im Handumdrehen ermöglicht.

Abbildung 1 zeigt das saisonale Muster des Dow Jones Industrial Average auf Basis der letzten 10, 20, 30 und 40 Börsenjahre. Das Ergebnis bestätigt die Ausbildung eines wichtigen Hochs im Zeitraum Ende April und Mitte Mai sowie die anschließende Seitwärts- bzw. Abwärtsbewegung der Aktienmärkte in den Sommermonaten. Gleichzeitig ist die Ausbildung eines saisonalen Tiefs typischerweise auf Anfang Oktober zu taxieren. Interessant ist dabei aber auch die Tatsache, dass dieses Muster im Zeitverlauf keine großen Abweichungen erfahren hat.

ABB. 1: SAISONALES MUSTER BEIM DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

Das alte Sprichwort „Sell in May and go away“ spiegelt sich in der Realität wider. Zwischen Mai und September schnitt der Aktienmarkt deutlich schwächer ab als zwischen Oktober und April.

 

HANDELSSTRATEGIE-CODE IN EQUILLA.

Ob man diese Informationen als Filter für andere Handelssignale oder zur Adjustierung der Positionsgröße an den saisonalen Trend verwenden möchte – die Umsetzung der Sell in May-Strategie in einen Programmcode und die anschließende Auswertung ist bei Tradesignal ebenfalls ein Kinderspiel. Hierzu muss lediglich der nachfolgende Code kopiert, als neue Handelsstrategie eingefügt und zur späteren Verwendung abgespeichert werden. Wie das genau funktioniert, zeigen wir Ihnen wie immer in der Video-Ausgabe der Trading Tips.

Die nachfolgenden Programmzeilen enthalten die Anweisungen für den Long-Einstieg jeweils Anfang Oktober und den Ausstieg Anfang Mai. Selbstverständlich lassen sich weitere Komponenten wie zum Beispiel ein Trendfilter oder ein Initial Stop implementieren – für den vorliegenden Zweck wurde darauf bewusst verzichtet.

Schauen wir uns nun an, wie sich die Kapitalkurve dieses primitiven Saisonal-Ansatzes in der Vergangenheit beim DAX entwickelt hätte. Abbildung 2 bestätigt eindrucksvoll, dass das Fernbleiben vom Aktienmarkt über die Sommermonate per Saldo eine gute Entscheidung darstellte. Anhand der unteren Kapitalkurve erkennt man, dass diese einfache Handelsregel ein passives Buy-and-Hold-Investment im DAX in den letzten 20 Jahren hinsichtlich der Performance, aber auch auf Basis der Volatilität geschlagen hat.

Meta:

Synopsis(​​ "Use this dashboard in a Watch List or in a Market Scanner. It displays conditions of 4 indicators (RSI, MACD, Slow Stochastics, Bollinger Bands) simultaneously. If the​​ indicator is in a buy condition, the cell is colored green. If it is in a sell condition the cell is colored red. The conditions are as shown below under the 'conditions' section."​​ ),

SubChart(​​ False​​ ),

ShortCode(​​ "SBDB"​​ );

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ 

Input:​​ 

P_RSI(14),P_MACD_fast(12),P_MACD_slow(26),P_MACD_trigger(9),P_BB(20),P_SS(3),

 ​​ ​​ ​​​​ greenColor(​​ ColorDarkGreen​​ ),redColor(​​ DarkRed​​ ),​​ FlatColor(​​ transparent​​ ),lookback(1),realtime(true),

Period(​​ NumericSimple​​ );

 

Variables:

Draw_all(true),

color,

result,

farbe,

summe,

rsivalue,

triggervalue,

bblower,

bbupper,

slow_k,

diff,

displace;

if​​ realtime​​ then​​ displace=0​​ else​​ displace=1;

summe=0;

 

rsiValue​​ =​​ RSIClassic(​​ close,​​ P_RSI );

color​​ =​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ >​​ 70,​​ redColor,​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ <​​ 30,​​ greenColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ >​​ 70,​​ summe-1,​​ Iff( rsiValue[displace]​​ <​​ 30,​​ summe+1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( rsiValue[displace],​​ "RSIC",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

result​​ =​​ MACD(​​ Close,​​ P_MACD_Fast,​​ P_MACD_Slow );

triggerValue​​ =​​ XAverage( result,​​ P_MACD_trigger );

color​​ =​​ Iff(( result[displace]​​ >​​ 0​​ ),​​ greenColor,​​ Iff( result[displace]​​ <​​ 0​​ ,​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff((result[displace]​​ >​​ 0​​ ),​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(result[displace]​​ <​​ 0​​ ,​​ summe-1,​​ summe​​ ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( result[displace],​​ "MACD",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

bblower​​ =​​ BollingerBand(​​ close,​​ P_BB, -2​​ );

bbupper​​ =​​ BollingerBand(​​ close,​​ P_BB,​​ 2​​ );

color​​ =​​ Iff(​​ close​​ <​​ bblower[displace],​​ greenColor,​​ Iff(​​ close​​ >​​ bbupper[displace],​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff(​​ close​​ <​​ bblower[displace],​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(​​ close​​ >​​ bbupper[displace],​​ summe-1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( bblower[displace],​​ "BB_low",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw(​​ bbupper[displace],​​ "BB_upper",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

 

slow_k​​ =​​ SlowK( P_SS );

color​​ =​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ <​​ 20,​​ greenColor,​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ >​​ 80,​​ redColor,​​ FlatColor ) );

summe​​ =​​ Iff( slow_k[displace]​​ <​​ 20,​​ summe+1,​​ Iff(​​ slow_k[displace]​​ >​​ 80,​​ summe-1,​​ summe ) );

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( slow_k[displace],​​ "Stoch K",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ color );

 

 

if​​ summe​​ >3​​ then​​ farbe=ColorForestgreen;

if​​ summe​​ >2​​ and​​ summe​​ <=3​​ then​​ farbe=green;

if​​ summe​​ >0​​ and​​ summe​​ <=2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorGreen;

if​​ summe​​ =0​​ then​​ farbe=white;

if​​ summe​​ <0​​ and​​ summe​​ >=-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorFireBrick;

if​​ summe​​ <-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorMaroon;​​ 

 

​​ if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw( summe,​​ "Sum",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ farbe );

 

diff=summe-summe[lookback];

 

if​​ diff​​ >3​​ then​​ farbe=ColorForestgreen;

if​​ diff​​ >2​​ and​​ diff​​ <=3​​ then​​ farbe=green;

if​​ diff​​ >0​​ and​​ diff​​ <=2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorGreen;

if​​ diff​​ =0​​ then​​ farbe=white;

if​​ diff​​ <0​​ and​​ diff​​ >=-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorFireBrick;

if​​ diff​​ <-2​​ then​​ farbe=ColorMaroon;​​ 

 

if​​ Draw_all​​ then Draw(​​ diff,​​ "Difference",​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ Default,​​ farbe );

 

CODE 1: SELL IN MAY-HANDELSSTRATEGIE.

Der Code enthält die Anweisung zum Long-Einstieg Anfang Mai, der Exit erfolgt Anfang Oktober.

 

Diese Aussage trifft im Übrigen auch für die US-Indizes wie S&P 500 oder Dow Jones zu. Dabei entpuppte sich der Long-Ausstieg per Ende April gerade in Bärenmarktphasen als hervorragendes Timing-Signal. Exemplarisch sei hier auf die starken Einbrüche im Sommer 1990, 2001, 2002 und 2008 verwiesen. Der Großteil der dort aufgetretenen Drawdowns konnte durch das Befolgen der Sell in May-Strategie umgangen werden.

Eines darf an dieser Stelle natürlich nicht verschwiegen werden: Kein saisonales Muster ist in Beton gemeißelt! Während das Auslassen der Sommermonate in starken Abwärtsphasen von Vorteil ist, zeigt sich in bestimmten Bullenmarktjahren die Kehrseite der Medaille. So verpassten die Anhänger des Sell in May-Effekts in den Jahren 1993, 1997 sowie 2005 und 2012 signifikante Kursgewinne.

ABB. 2: DAX MIT SELL IN MAY-HANDELSSTRATEGIE.

Die einfache Sell in May-Strategie hat in den letzten 20 Jahren einen passiven Buy-and-Hold-Ansatz beim DAX deutlich geschlagen.

 

WAS SAGT DER PERFORMANCE-BERICHT?

Kommen wir abschließend zur Analyse der Ergebnisse. Mit einem Klick auf die Performancestatistik erhalten Trader, Portfoliomanager und Analysten bei Tradesignal einen detaillierten Einblick in Dutzende Kennzahlen wie zum Beispiel:

  • Nettogewinn/-verlust
  • Trefferquote
  • Profit Faktor
  • Maximaler Drawdown

 

Für den DAX lässt sich der Sell in May-Ansatz wie folgt zusammenfassen: Seit 1991 wurden 22 Trades im Rahmen der Sell in May-Strategie durchgeführt – 19 davon schlossen mit einem positiven Ergebnis ab. Ohne Berücksichtigung von Transaktionskosten wurde insgesamt ein Nettogewinn von rund 12000 Punkten generiert, der größte Drawdown betrug rund 3100 Punkte. Abbildung 3 zeigt einen Auszug aus dem Performancereport – dieses Mal für den Dow Jones seit dem Jahr 1950.

Auch hier kommt der saisonale Effekt deutlich zum Vorschein, schließlich beträgt die Trefferquote seit dem Jahr 1950 stattliche 75 Prozent. Eine wichtige Botschaft hat die Auswertung allerdings auch parat: Die Sell in May-Strategie hat Ende der siebziger Jahre gleich vier Fehlsignale in Folge generiert – ein Beweis dafür, dass der saisonale Ansatz keineswegs jedes Jahr funktionieren muss.

ABB. 3: AUSWERTUNG FÜR DOW JONES INDUSTRIAL AVERAGE.

Die einfache Sell in May-Strategie hat seit 1950 eine Trefferquote von fast 75 Prozent erzielt.

 

FAZIT.

Die Gründe für den Sell in May- bzw. Halloween-Effekt lassen sich bis heute nicht genau ergründen, aber eines ist nicht von der Hand zu weisen: In der Vergangenheit hat sich diese sehr einfache Strategie, jeweils Anfang Mai aus- und Anfang Oktober wieder einzusteigen, mehrheitlich bewährt. Allerdings muss erwähnt werden, dass die Beurteilung dieser saisonalen Strategie sehr stark vom Anlageinstrument – sprich: von der Wahl des Aktienindex – und vom Anlagezeitraum abhängig ist.
Im Grunde genommen handelt es sich bei dieser Kursanomalie um eine Art Verlustbegrenzungsmechanismus, der aber – falls der Markt über den Sommer hinweg ansteigt – auch seinen Preis hat. Mit Tradesignal lassen sich nahezu alle Kursmuster und Handelsansätze in klare, regelbasierte Strategien übersetzen und testen, sodass Fehlentscheidungen eliminiert werden. Das Team steht Ihnen hierbei gerne unterstützend zur Seite.

Take care, take profit,
David Pieper

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Dieses Werk bzw. dessen Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Unported Lizenz:
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/deed.de

Tradesignal® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Tradesignal GmbH. Nicht autorisierte Nutzung oder Missbrauch ist ausdrücklich verboten. Alle weiteren auf diesen Seiten genannten und ggf. durch Dritte geschützten Marken- und Warenzeichen unterliegen uneingeschränkt den Bestimmungen des jeweils gültigen Kennzeichenrechts und den Besitzrechten der jeweiligen eingetragenen Eigentümer.

Tradesignal Ltd. erhält Informationen aus Quellen, die es für zuverlässig hält, übernimmt jedoch keine Garantie für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der darin enthaltenen Informationen. Tradesignal Ltd. und ihre verbundenen Unternehmen stellen keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen oder Analysen dar, einschließlich der implizierten Garantien für die Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und die Handelsüblichkeit. Tradesignal Ltd. oder ihre verbundenen Unternehmen haften in keinem Fall für Entscheidungen oder Maßnahmen, die im Vertrauen auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen, entgangene Gewinne oder indirekte, Folgeschäden, besondere oder zufällige Schäden, sei es im Vertrag, in unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, getroffen werden, auch wenn auf die Möglichkeit solcher Schäden hingewiesen wird. Dieses Material stellt weder ein Angebot noch eine Aufforderung zur Abgabe eines Angebots oder eine Empfehlung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Wertpapieren dar. Alle Äußerungen sind freibleibend.

Die Equilla Codes werden kostenlos und „wie besehen“ zur Verfügung gestellt, ohne Gewährleistung jeglicher Art, ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Garantien der Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und Nichtverletzung. In keinem Fall haftet Tradesignal Ltd. für Ansprüche, Schäden oder sonstige Haftung, sei es in einer Vertragsklage, unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, die sich aus oder im Zusammenhang mit diesem Code oder der Verwendung dieses Codes ergibt.

diam nunc vulputate, massa sem, id risus. ut Nullam libero Praesent ipsum