Algorithmic Trading Tips 17.

BUY AND SELL ORDERS, POSITION SIZE AND STOPS.

PART 1: THE TOOLBOX FOR SYSTEMATIC TRADERS.

This issue contains five modules for the development or testing of a trading strategy in Tradesignal. An entry, a position size control and different stop types – modules allow quant traders a quick and easy start in the development of algorithmic trading strategies.

WAtCH VIDEO NOW. (4 minutes to improve your performance.)
DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Thomson Reuters.)
DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Bloomberg.)

By downloading you agree to the terms of use below.

One of the great advantages of Tradesignal is the ability to develop and backtest trading systems quickly – even without programming knowledge or statistical studies. The algorithmic trading software provides hundreds of predefined examples and almost every indicator is included in its textbook format. If you look for the moving average for example, you will find all trading strategies associated with this indicator quickly and you can display all entry and exit signal on the chart. Therefore, many ideas can already be translated into action by using the prebuilt strategies.

In this Algorithmic Trading Tips edition, however, I’d like to present to you my private tools which will make your strategy development even easier.

01. THE ENTRY-MODUL.

Let us start with a test trading strategy which is responsible for the entry signals. It is based on a simple moving average and the Slow Stochastic Indicator.

The strategy is exemplified in two parts: First, the trend direction is determined. To place a long trade, the market must be above its rising moving average (SMA). If that is the case and the Slow Stochastic crosses above 50, the actual entry is triggered on the close of the next bar. This two-part approach ensures that many signals are generated in the trend direction. This will be advantageous if our position is eventually closed early although the trend is still intact. Thanks to the oscillator the next entry signal in trend direction is just a few bars away.

Figure 1 shows the pure entry signals on the chart. One necessary improvement can be seen too – the size of the position.

THE REASON BEHIND THIS: Backtest results will be heavily distorted, if you trade a market that fluctuates by more than 50% with a fixed position size all the time, then simply by higher absolute price levels a contract at 10,000 points would have a higher impact than a contract which is bought at 5,000.

BY THE WAY: If you enter the command drawline(slowk(5)) into the command line of Tradesignal, the Stochastic indicator is displayed below the chart. You can then add a line at 50 to visually get a clear understanding of how entry signals are generated.

FIGURE 1: ENTRY SIGNALS.

The entry module generates long and short signals based on a rising SMA and the Slow Stochastics Indicator.

02. THE POSITION SIZE MODULE.

The position size can easily be defined by the next script. It invests the same amount of capital in each trade signal. Thus, the influence of the absolute price levels is compensated.

On the following chart you can see the result: With every trade now EUR 100,000 are invested in the DAX (as you can see the size varies for each buy or sell signal). This prevents distortions in the backtest due to the high volatility of the underlying market.

FIGURE 2: ENTRY SIGNALS WITH POSITION SIZING MODULE.

In order to eliminate distortions due to different levels of price levels, the position sizing module is used, which employs a fixed capital amount for each trade (100.000 Euro in this example).

03. THE INITIAL STOP MODULE.

What stands at first glance while looking at the chart, is the lack of a stop loss. Although the entry strategy opens a position in trend direction at some time, as you can see in Figure 2, the strategy has long been caught in a short trade for a while. Use the following code to insert an Equilla initial stop into the strategy. The width of the stops can be controlled in the properties section – either on an absolute or a percentage level. In addition, visuals will (and this is the case in all scripts) also appear on the same chart, where the strategy places the stop.

INITIAL STOP (ABSOLUTE).

INITIAL STOP (PERCENTAGE).

FIGURE 3: IMPLEMENTATION OF AN INITIAL STOP.

In the present example, a stop module has been implemented. The cash stop risks an absolute amount of 10.000 Euros.

04. THE PROFIT TARGET MODULE.

If the position is hedged with an initial stop, you can take the next step the following scripts to realize the accrued gains. These are, in each case, a simple profit target – either in absolute or in percentage terms. Please note that the absolute profit target is for the overall position, and not for individual contract to which it applies.

PROFIT TARGET (ABSOLUTE).

PROFIT TARGET (PERCENTAGE).

As you can see, the use of the oscillator initially described brings a clear benefit here: In 2013 the profit target has been reached twice, but the entry-level logic has brought the system back into position quickly.

FIGURE 4: USING PROFIT TARGETS.

In this example, a profit target has been added to the modules already included. It performs a profit-taking on reaching a freely definable absolute profit level.

05. THE TRAILING STOP MODULE.

In addition to the use of a pure profit target, protecting accrued gains without realizing them with a fixed barrier can also be a rewarding exit strategy. The following Equilla code allows you to use such a trailing stop.

NOTE:
Please note that when applying the exits Tradesignal always automatically takes the exit, which is closer to the current market level. If we add another five percent stop loss into the chart above, the stop remains five percent below the entry price, until a gain of more than five per cent has been reached. In this case, the 10 percent trailing stop would be closer to the market than the initial stop and would be gradually trailed into the absolute gain range.

FIGURE 5: USING A TRAILING STOP.

In order to achieve a continuous hedging of accrued gains, a trailing stop is used in this example. With this tool, trends can be optimally utilized.

 

DEVELOP AND TEST YOUR ENTRY STRATEGY USING THE MODULAR PRINCIPLE.

With the presented modules you can test the robustness of any entry idea in a simple manner. Without “crunching numbers” you can adjust the correct parameters visually. Don`t pay too much attention on the results of the strategy at this stage of system development, but rather on whether the signals are plausible or not.

As you can see on Figure 4, a trailing stop of 10% is a good choice for this market and entry style. A much smaller trailing stop would not exploit the trends, while a much further stop would not protect profits enough. I prefer to find out the first parameters for a potential further optimization in a visual way rather than by stubborn optimization. Therefore, all presented scripts show where you place the orders.

A workspace including this indicator can be downloaded.

That’s it for today – take care, take profit and “auf Wiedersehen”.
Philipp Kahler

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Distribution allowed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Tradesignal® is a registered trademark of Tradesignal GmbH. Unauthorized use or misuse is specifically prohibited. All other protected brands and trademarks mentioned in this document conform, without restriction, to the provisions of applicable trademark law and the copyrights of the respective registered owners.

Tradesignal Ltd. obtains information from sources it considers reliable, but does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of its information contained therein. Tradesignal Ltd. and its affiliates make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, with respect to the information or analysis supplied herein, including without limitation the implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and merchantability, and each specifically disclaims any such warranty. In no event shall Tradesignal Ltd. or its affiliates be liable to for any decision made or action taken in reliance upon the information contained herein, lost profits or any indirect, consequential, special or incidental damages, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, even if advised of the possibility of such damages. This material does not constitute an offer or a solicitation of an offer or a recommendation to buy or sell securities. All expressions of opinion are subject to change without notice.

This code is provided free of charge and “as is”, without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and noninfringement. In no event, shall Tradesignal Ltd. be liable for any claim, damages or other liability, whether in an action of contract, tort or otherwise, arising from, or of or in connection with this code or the use of this code.

.

accumsan felis mi, nec dolor. vulputate, velit, Nullam Praesent felis id,

Algorithmic Trading Tips 17.

KAUF- UND VERKAUFS-SIGNALE, POSITIONS-GRÖSSE UND STOPPS.

TEIL 1: Die Toolbox für den Trader.

Die vorliegende Ausgabe enthält fünf Bausteine für die Entwicklung oder den Test einer Handelsstrategie in Tradesignal. Vom Entry über eine Positionsgrößensteuerung bis hin zu unterschiedlichen Stopp-Arten – Bausteine ermöglichen Quant Tradern einen schnellen und unkomplizierten Einstieg in die Entwicklung algorithmischer Handelsstrategien.

JETZT VIDEO ANSEHEN. (4 Minuten, die Ihre Performance verbessern können.)
ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Thomson Reuters.)
ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Bloomberg.)

Mit dem Download erkennen Sie die unten aufrufbaren Nutzungsbedingungen an.

 

Einer der großen Vorteile des Tradesignal Softwarepakets ist die Möglichkeit, Handelssysteme schnell entwickeln und testen zu können – auch ohne Programmierkenntnisse und Statistikstudium. Die Software bietet dazu Hunderte vordefinierte Beispiele. Nahezu jeder Indikator ist in seiner Lehrbuchinterpretation enthalten. Suchen Sie in der Liste der Strategien z. B. nach dem Moving Average, dann werden Sie alle mit diesem Indikator verbundenen Handelsstrategien finden und können im Chart entsprechende Ein- und Ausstiegssignale anzeigen lassen. Vieles lässt sich also mit diesen vorgefertigten Strategien zu Wege bringen.

In dieser Ausgabe stelle ich Ihnen jedoch meine privaten Entwicklertools vor und Sie werden sehen, dass die Entwicklung von Handelsstrategien damit noch einfacher wird.

01. DAS ENTRY-MODUL.

Beginnen wir zunächst mit einer Test-Strategie, die für die Einstiegssignale zuständig ist. Sie basiert auf einem gleitenden Durchschnitt und dem Slow Stochastic Indikator.


Die Strategie ist beispielhaft zweiteilig aufgebaut: Zunächst wird die Trendrichtung bestimmt. Um einen Long Trade zu platzieren, muss der Markt über seinem steigenden gleitenden Durchschnitt (SMA) liegen. Schneidet anschließend auch noch die Slow Stochastic über 50, wird der eigentliche Einstieg zum Ende des Bars ausgelöst. Dieses zweiteilige Vorgehen sorgt dafür, dass viele Signale in Trendrichtung generiert werden. Dies wird von Vorteil sein, falls unsere Position irgendwann ausgestoppt, der Trend aber weiterhin intakt ist. Das nächste Entry-Signal in Trendrichtung ist dank des Oszillators nur ein paar Bars entfernt.Abbildung 1 zeigt die reinen Entry-Signale am Chart. Zu sehen ist auch die erste notwendige Verbesserung – die Bestimmung der Größe einer Position.

DER GRUND: Die Backtest-Ergebnisse wären stark verzerrt, wenn man einen Markt, der um mehr als 50% schwankt, immer nur mit einer festen Positionsgröße handeln würde. Allein durch das höhere absolute Kursniveau würde ein Kontrakt bei 10.000 Punkten einen höheren Einfluss haben als ein Kontrakt, der bei 5.000 gekauft wird.

ÜBRIGENS: Wenn Sie bei Tradesignal den Befehl drawline(slowk(5)) in die Kommandozeile eingeben, wird der Stochastic-Indikator unterhalb des Charts angezeigt. Anschließend können Sie bei 50 eine Linie hinzufügen und schon lassen sich die generierten Einstiegssignale visuell nachvollziehen.

 

ABB. 1: EINSTIEGSSIGNALE.

Das Entry-Modul generiert Long- und Short-Signale auf Basis der Steigung der SMA und der Slow Stochastic.

 

02. DAS POSITIONSGRÖSSENMODUL.

Die Positionsgröße lässt sich ganz einfach durch das nächste Script bestimmen. Es wird bei jedem Handelssignal dasselbe Geld angelegt. Damit gleicht sich der Einfluss der absoluten Kursstände wieder aus.

Auf dem nachfolgenden Chart sehen Sie das Ergebnis: Jetzt werden mit jedem Trade 100.000 Euro in den DAX investiert (zu sehen an den unterschiedlichen Zahlenangaben an jedem Kauf- bzw. Verkaufssignal). Dies verhindert die durch die hohe Volatilität des Marktes bedingten Verzerrungen im Backtest.

ABB. 2: EINSTIEGSSIGNALE MIT POSITIONSGRÖSSENMODUL.

Um Verzerrungen aufgrund unterschiedlich hoher Kursniveaus zu eliminieren, kommt das Kapital-Modul zum Einsatz (PositionSizing), das für jeden Trade jeweils einen festen Kapitalbetrag einsetzt (hier: 100.000 Euro).

 

03. DAS INITIAL STOP-MODUL.

Was am Chart auf den ersten Blick auffällt, ist der fehlende Stop Loss. Die Einstiegsstrategie selbst geht zwar irgendwann in Trendrichtung in Position, aber wie man auf Abbildung 2 erkennen kann, ist die Strategie seit langem in einem Short Trade
gefangen. Mit den nachfolgenden Equilla Codes können Sie einen Initial Stop in die Strategie einfügen. Die Weite des Stops können Sie in den Eigenschaften steuern – entweder als absoluten Geldbetrag oder als prozentuale Angabe. Zudem wird Ihnen am Chart (und das ist bei allen Scripten der Fall) auch gleich angezeigt, wo die Handelsstrategie den Stop platziert.

INITIAL STOP (ABSOLUT).

INITIAL STOP (PROZENTUAL).

ABB. 3: ZUSÄTZLICHE IMPLEMENTIERUNG EINES INITIAL STOPS.

Im vorliegenden Beispiel wurde ein Stop-Modul implementiert. Hierbei kommt ein absoluter Stop in Höhe von 10.000 Euro zum Einsatz.

 

04. DAS PROFIT TARGET-MODUL.

Ist die Position mit einem Initial Stop abgesichert, können Sie im nächsten Schritt die nachfolgenden Scripte nutzen, um die aufgelaufenen Gewinne zu realisieren. Es handelt sich jeweils um ein einfaches Profit Target – entweder in absoluter oder in
prozentualer Höhe. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das absolute Gewinnziel für die Gesamtposition, und nicht für den Einzelkontrakt gilt.

PROFIT TARGET (ABSOLUT).

PROFIT TARGET (PROZENTUAL).

Wie Sie sehen, kommt der eingangs beschriebene Einsatz des schnellen Einstiegsoszillators hier zugute: Im Jahr 2013 wurde das Gewinnziel zweimal erreicht, jedoch konnte die Einstiegslogik das System schnell wieder in Position bringen.

ABB. 4: EINSATZ EINES PROFIT TARGETS.

Im vorliegenden Beispiel wurde zu den bereits enthaltenen Modulen nun ein Profit Target hinzugefügt, das bei Erreichen einer frei definierbaren absoluten Gewinnhöhe eine Gewinnmitnahme durchführt.

 

05. DAS TRAILING STOP-MODUL.

Neben der Verwendung eines reinen Gewinnziels kann auch der Schutz aufgelaufener Gewinne, ohne diese jedoch bei einer fixen Schranke gleich zu realisieren, eine lohnende Exit-Strategie sein. Der nachfolgende Equilla Code ermöglicht Ihnen den Einsatz eines solchen nachgezogenen Stops (Trailing Stop).

HINWEIS:
Bitte beachten Sie bei der Anwendung der Exits, dass Tradesignal immer automatisch den Exit nimmt, der näher am Marktniveau dran ist. Fügt man bei dem obigen Chart z.B. noch einen fünfprozentigen Stop Loss hinzu, bleibt der Stop solange fünf Prozent unter dem Einstiegspreis liegen, bis ein Gewinn von mehr als fünf Prozent erreicht ist. Dann nämlich läge der 10-Prozent-Trailing Stop näher am Markt als der Initial Stop und würde nach und nach in den absoluten Gewinnbereich gezogen werden.

ABB. 5: EINSATZ EINES TRAILING STOPS.

Um eine fortlaufende Absicherung aufgelaufener Gewinne zu erreichen, kommt in diesem Beispiel ein Trailing Stop zum Einsatz. Damit lassen sich Trends optimal ausnutzen.

 

ENTWICKELN UND TESTEN SIE IHRE EINSTIEGSSTRATEGIE NACH DEM BAUKASTENPRINZIP.

Mit den hier vorgestellten Modulen können Sie auf einfache Weise die Güte jeder beliebigen Einstiegsidee testen. Ohne großes „number crunching“ können Sie so grafisch auch die richtigen Parameter einstellen. Achten Sie in dieser Phase der Enwicklung noch nicht so sehr auf die Ergebnisse der Strategie, sondern vielmehr darauf, ob die Signale plausibel sind.
Wie Sie auf Abbildung 4 sehen, ist ein Trailing Stop von 10% bei diesem Markt und Einstieg angebracht. Ein wesentlich kleinerer Trailing Stop würde die Trends dagegen nicht ausreizen können, während ein wesentlich weiterer Stop die Gewinne nicht genügend absichern würde.
Diesen ersten Parameter für eine mögliche weitere Optimierung des Systems finde ich gerne auf grafischem Weg heraus, und nicht gleich durch stures Optimieren. Deshalb zeigen die hier vorgestellten Exits auch immer an, wo sie die Order platzieren.

Alle Strategie-Module stehen auch zum bequemen Download als Arbeitsbereich zur Verfügung.

Das war’s für heute. Take care, take profit und auf Wiedersehen.
Philipp Kahler

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Dieses Werk bzw. dessen Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Unported Lizenz:
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/deed.de

Tradesignal® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Tradesignal GmbH. Nicht autorisierte Nutzung oder Missbrauch ist ausdrücklich verboten. Alle weiteren auf diesen Seiten genannten und ggf. durch Dritte geschützten Marken- und Warenzeichen unterliegen uneingeschränkt den Bestimmungen des jeweils gültigen Kennzeichenrechts und den Besitzrechten der jeweiligen eingetragenen Eigentümer.

Tradesignal Ltd. erhält Informationen aus Quellen, die es für zuverlässig hält, übernimmt jedoch keine Garantie für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der darin enthaltenen Informationen. Tradesignal Ltd. und ihre verbundenen Unternehmen stellen keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen oder Analysen dar, einschließlich der implizierten Garantien für die Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und die Handelsüblichkeit. Tradesignal Ltd. oder ihre verbundenen Unternehmen haften in keinem Fall für Entscheidungen oder Maßnahmen, die im Vertrauen auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen, entgangene Gewinne oder indirekte, Folgeschäden, besondere oder zufällige Schäden, sei es im Vertrag, in unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, getroffen werden, auch wenn auf die Möglichkeit solcher Schäden hingewiesen wird. Dieses Material stellt weder ein Angebot noch eine Aufforderung zur Abgabe eines Angebots oder eine Empfehlung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Wertpapieren dar. Alle Äußerungen sind freibleibend.

Die Equilla Codes werden kostenlos und „wie besehen“ zur Verfügung gestellt, ohne Gewährleistung jeglicher Art, ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Garantien der Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und Nichtverletzung. In keinem Fall haftet Tradesignal Ltd. für Ansprüche, Schäden oder sonstige Haftung, sei es in einer Vertragsklage, unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, die sich aus oder im Zusammenhang mit diesem Code oder der Verwendung dieses Codes ergibt.

accumsan ante. libero. leo. elit. leo consequat. ipsum