Algorithmic Trading Tips 19.

VISUAL SIGNALS ON YOUR CHART.

HOW TO CREATE YOUR OWN INDICATORS AND VISUALIZE YOUR SIGNALS.

The analysis and observation of charts is much easier with the help of graphical indicators. Whether you are looking for overbought/oversold market conditions, reversal patterns, trends or periods with large trading moves – This issue contains several Equilla codes for easy visualisation.

DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Thomson Reuters.)
DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Bloomberg.)

By downloading you agree to the terms of use below.

With Tradesignal and its formula language Equilla you can create virtually any indicator and trading strategy. In this issue we would like to show you how specific market situations can be shown graphically on the chart. This makes your analysis more efficient and comfortable, at the same time you can discover new patterns in the market and back test them later.

TREND BAR INDICATOR.

Visualizing Trends.

The Trend Bar Indicator colours a bar chart depending on its current situation and trend, thus ensuring a better overview in chart analysis. A simple moving average (SMA) serves as input for the definition of the trend. Of course, it is possible to use any desired trend indicator, or even a combination of several indicators. You can easily modify the Equilla code contained in the workspace to suit your needs.

By default, a bar chart is coloured green when the price moves above its 200-period SMA. If the price is below the SMA, the bars turn red. The colour feature is made possible by the use of the Drawbar command in Equilla.

FIGURE 1: S&P 500 WITH TREND BAR INDICATOR APPLIED TO THREE TIME FRAMES.

The screenshot shows the Trend Bar Indicator in action. Shown is the S&P 500 as a weekly, daily and hourly chart. Using the colour distinction, you immediately realise whether the index holds above or below its long term trend.

 EQUILLA CODE FOR TREND BAR INDICATOR

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ LongPeriod(200);

Variables:​​ longAV,​​ colour;

longAV=average(close,LongPeriod);

colour=black;

if​​ close<longAV

then​​ colour=red;

if​​ close>longAV

then​​ colour=green;

drawbar(open,high,low,close,​​ colour,colour);

BIG BAR INDICATOR.

Marking Important Market Situations.

Marking disproportionately large candles in a chart can serve as valuable information that can be used for analysis or to generate trading strategies. The Big Bar indicator is created by using the Drawforest command and labels all bars whose range exceeds an arbitrary percentage value. The amount of margin can be set with the input “BarPerformancePerc”.

FIGURE 2: DAX WEEKLY CHART WITH BIG BAR INDICATOR.

The Big Bar Indicator marks all candles with a minimum margin of 8 per cent. Price declines are marked orange, while price increases are labelled gray. In the sub chart the Big Bar indicator was reinserted and adjusted with a percentage value of 4 percent.

EQUILLA CODE FOR THE BIG BAR INDICATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(true);

Inputs:BarPerformancePerc(3,0.1);

if​​ close<((100-BarPerformancePerc)/100)*close[1]​​ then begin

drawforest(0,1);

drawforest(1,0);

end;

if​​ close>((100+BarPerformancePerc)/100)*close[1]​​ then begin

drawforest(0,1);

drawforest(1,0);

end;

PULLBACK INDICATOR.

Visualization of overbought and oversold areas.

Buying after corrections in an intact up trend is the most popular trend-following approach of all. Following the motto „buy the dip“ it is important to take advantage of oversold conditions in an intact upward trend for long entry. In a down trend, the motto on the other hand is „sell the rally“, i.e. short-term recoveries, which end in an overbought condition, represent a good exit or short opportunity.
A simple method to improve the timing of trading decisions and to provide for a systematic basis, is to identify overbought and oversold market conditions by means of an oscillator.

The following example demonstrates the added value that provides the interaction of a SMA (trend follower) and Stochastic (oscillator). Shown here for the EUR/USD in a 30-minute chart.

Green triangles: oversold condition within an up trend
Red triangles: overbought condition within a down trend

FIGURE 3: PULLBACK INDICATOR FOR THE EUR/USD 30-MINUTE-CHART.

The indicator identifies overbought and oversold conditions and marks them based on the prevailing trend.

EQUILLA CODE FOR  PULLBACK INDICATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ ATRmultiple(0.5),VolaPeriod(10);

Vars:​​ ATR,BearReversal,BullReversal;

ATR=avgTrueRange(VolaPeriod);

BearReversal=(close[1]>open[1]+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close<open-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open<close[1]);

BullReversal=(close[1]<open[1]-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close>open+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open>close[1]);

If​​ BearReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(high,"",symboldiamond,10,red,red);

end;

if​​ BullReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(low,"",symboldiamond,10,green,green);

end;

REVERSAL PATTERNS.

Flagging individual patterns in a chart.

The display of individual patterns in a chart provides a useful overview, making it a valuable tool for all market participants. A two bar reversal serves as an example of the visualization. For a bearish reversal: After a positive candle a negative one follows, which also closes below the former candle. Both candles must have reached a definable minimum size. This is calculated using the Average True Range (ATR). If these conditions are met, an icon in the chart is shown. For bullish reversals the reverse rules apply.

FIGURE 4: TWO BAR REVERSAL INDICATOR FOR THE BASELOAD FRONT YEAR CONTRACT CAL 18.

All detected reversal patterns are automatically shown in the chart.

EQUILLA CODE FOR TWO BAR REVERSAL INDICATOR

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ ATRmultiple(0.5),VolaPeriod(10);

Vars:​​ ATR,BearReversal,BullReversal;

ATR=avgTrueRange(VolaPeriod);

BearReversal=(close[1]>open[1]+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close<open-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open<close[1]);

BullReversal=(close[1]<open[1]-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close>open+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open>close[1]);

If​​ BearReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(high,"",symboldiamond,10,red,red);

end;

if​​ BullReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(low,"",symboldiamond,10,green,green);

end;

BY THE WAY:
To create a back test only a short extension of the code is required:

If​​ BearReversal​​ then short next bar​​ at​​ low​​ stop;

If​​ BullReversal​​ then buy next bar​​ at​​ high​​ stop;

CREATE INDICATORS AND BACK TEST.

To check the robustness and performance of the pattern, you can use already pre-installed exit modules. In the screenshot below the exit takes place on the open of the following trading day.

FIGURE 5: TWO BAR REVERSAL STRATEGY APPLIED TO BASELOAD FRONT YEAR CONTRACT CAL 18

With the expansion of the indicator with buy or sell orders and the use of a simple exit on the following day, you can back test the two bar Reversal Pattern.

As you can see, Tradesignal provides all the tools for creating your personal graphic tools. Using the examples provided you can implement your ideas quickly. Only a few lines suffice. It is also possible as we have shown to enhance existing indicators into simple trading strategies. This enables you to back test and explore how those indicators would have performed in the past.

Take care, take profit and “auf Wiedersehen”.
David Pieper

DOWNLOAD ARTICLE AS PDF.

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Distribution allowed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Tradesignal® is a registered trademark of Tradesignal GmbH. Unauthorized use or misuse is specifically prohibited. All other protected brands and trademarks mentioned in this document conform, without restriction, to the provisions of applicable trademark law and the copyrights of the respective registered owners.

Tradesignal Ltd. obtains information from sources it considers reliable, but does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of its information contained therein. Tradesignal Ltd. and its affiliates make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, with respect to the information or analysis supplied herein, including without limitation the implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and merchantability, and each specifically disclaims any such warranty. In no event shall Tradesignal Ltd. or its affiliates be liable to for any decision made or action taken in reliance upon the information contained herein, lost profits or any indirect, consequential, special or incidental damages, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, even if advised of the possibility of such damages. This material does not constitute an offer or a solicitation of an offer or a recommendation to buy or sell securities. All expressions of opinion are subject to change without notice.

This code is provided free of charge and “as is”, without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and noninfringement. In no event, shall Tradesignal Ltd. be liable for any claim, damages or other liability, whether in an action of contract, tort or otherwise, arising from, or of or in connection with this code or the use of this code.

.

lectus quis, felis vulputate, porta. venenatis, sem, at

Algorithmic Trading Tips 19.

GRAFISCHE SIGNALE DIREKT IM CHART.

WIE SIE IHRE EIGENEN INDIKATOREN ERSTELLEN UND VISUALISIEREN.

Die Analyse und Beobachtung von Charts lässt sich mit der Hilfe von grafischen Indikatoren deutlich erleichtern. Ob Sie nach Überkauft-/Überverkauft-Signalen, Umkehrmustern, Trends oder nach Perioden mit großen Handelsspannen suchen: Die vorliegende Ausgabe enthält mehrere Equilla Codes für genau diese Aufgabe.

ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Thomson Reuters.)
ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Bloomberg.)

Mit dem Download erkennen Sie die unten aufrufbaren Nutzungsbedingungen an.

 

Mit Tradesignal und der Formelsprache Equilla lassen sich nahezu alle Indikatoren und Handelsstrategien erstellen. In der vorliegenden Ausgabe möchten wir aufzeigen, wie sich bestimmte Marktsituationen direkt im Chart grafisch anzeigen lassen. Dadurch wird die Analyse noch bequemer und effizienter, gleichzeitig können Sie auf diese Weise neue Muster im Markt aufdecken und später backtesten.
Registrierten Nutzern stellen wir den Equilla Code unterhalb der jeweiligen Abbildung sowie in einem Arbeitsbereich als Download zur Verfügung. Dieser dient als Grundlage zur Erstellung Ihrer eigenen Tools und kann jederzeit modifiziert werden.

TREND BAR INDIKATOR.

Trends sichtbar machen.

Der Trend Bar Indikator färbt einen Balkenchart in Abhängigkeit der aktuellen Trendsituation und sorgt damit für eine bessere Übersicht bei der Chartanalyse. Ein einfacher SMA dient hierbei als Input zur Definition des Trends. Selbstverständlich lässt sich jeder beliebige Trendindikator einsetzen oder aber eine Kombination mehrerer Indikatoren.

In der Standardeinstellung wird ein Bar Chart grün gefärbt, wenn sich der Kurs oberhalb seiner 200-Perioden-SMA bewegt. Liegt der Kurs unterhalb der SMA, werden die Balken rot angezeigt. Ermöglicht wird die Farbfunktion durch den Einsatz des Drawbar-Befehls in Equilla.

ABB. 1: S&P 500 MIT TREND BAR INDIKATOR AUF DREI ZEITEBENEN.

Der Screenshot zeigt den Trend Bar Indikator in Aktion. Dargestellt ist der S&P 500 als Wochen-, Tages- und Stundenchart.
Mithilfe der farblichen Unterscheidung erkennen Sie sofort, ob der Index ober- oder unterhalb seines langfristigen Trends notiert.

EQUILLA CODE FÜR DEN TREND BAR INDIKATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ LongPeriod(200);

Variables:​​ longAV,​​ colour;

longAV=average(close,LongPeriod);

colour=black;

if​​ close<longAV

then​​ colour=red;

if​​ close>longAV

then​​ colour=green;

drawbar(open,high,low,close,​​ colour,colour);

BIG BAR INDIKATOR.

Wichtige Marktsituationen markieren.

Treten überdurchschnittlich große Kerzen in einem Chart auf, sind dies häufig wertvolle Informationen, die zur Analyse oder zur Generierung von Handelsstrategien herangezogen werden können. Der Big Bar Indikator erstellt mithilfe des Drawforest-Befehls unterhalb des Charts Markierungen für alle Bars, deren Handelsspanne einen frei wählbaren Prozentwert übersteigt. Die Höhe der Handelsspanne kann mit dem Input „BarPerformancePerc“ festgelegt werden.

ABB. 2: DAX WOCHENCHART MIT BIG BAR INDIKATOR.

Der Screenshot zeigt im oberen Bereich alle Wochenkerzen mit einer Mindestspanne von 8 Prozent. Kursrückgänge werden orange,
Kursanstiege grau markiert. Unterhalb des Charts wurde der Big Bar Indikator erneut eingefügt und mit einer feineren Einstellung von vier Prozent eingestellt.

EQUILLA CODE FÜR DEN BIG BAR INDIKATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(true);

Inputs:BarPerformancePerc(3,0.1);

if​​ close<((100-BarPerformancePerc)/100)*close[1]​​ then begin

drawforest(0,1);

drawforest(1,0);

end;

if​​ close>((100+BarPerformancePerc)/100)*close[1]​​ then begin

drawforest(0,1);

drawforest(1,0);

end;

PULLBACK INDIKATOR.

Visualisierung überkaufter und überverkaufter Kursbereiche.

Korrekturen in einem intakten Aufwärtstrend zu handeln, ist wohl der Trendfolgeansatz schlechthin. Nach dem Motto „Buy the Dip“ gilt es, überverkaufte Situationen in einem intakten Aufwärtstrend zum Long-Einstieg zu nutzen. In einem Abwärtstrend lautet die Devise dagegen „Sell the Rallye“, d.h. kurzfristige Erholungen, die in einer Überkauftheit enden, stellen Ausstiegs- bzw. Short-Gelegenheiten dar.
Eine einfache Methode, das Timing der Handelsentscheidungen zu verbessern und zu auf eine systematische Basis zu stellen, ist die Identifikation von überkauften und überverkauften Marktsituationen mittels eines Oszillators.

Das nachfolgende Beispiel zeigt, welchen Mehrwert das Zusammenspiel aus einem SMA (Trendfolger) und einem Stochastik (Oszillator) liefert. Dargestellt ist der EUR/USD als 30-Minuten-Chart.

Grüne Dreiecke: überverkaufter Zustand innerhalb eines Aufwärtstrends
Rote Dreiecke: überkaufter Zustand innerhalb eines Abwärtstrends

ABB. 3: PULLBACK INDIKATOR BEIM EUR/USD 30-MINUTEN-CHART.

Der Indikator identifiziert überkaufte und überverkaufte Marktzustände und markiert diese in Abhängigkeit des vorherrschenden Trends.

EQUILLA CODE FÜR DEN PULLBACK INDIKATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ ATRmultiple(0.5),VolaPeriod(10);

Vars:​​ ATR,BearReversal,BullReversal;

ATR=avgTrueRange(VolaPeriod);

BearReversal=(close[1]>open[1]+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close<open-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open<close[1]);

BullReversal=(close[1]<open[1]-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close>open+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open>close[1]);

If​​ BearReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(high,"",symboldiamond,10,red,red);

end;

if​​ BullReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(low,"",symboldiamond,10,green,green);

end;

REVERSAL PATTERNS.

Individuelle Muster im Chart markieren.

Die Anzeige individueller Muster im Chart schafft Übersicht im Chart und ist damit eine wertvolle Hilfe für jeden Marktteilnehmer. Als Beispiel für die Visualisierung eines einfachen Musters soll nachfolgend ein aus zwei Bars bestehendes Reversal dienen. Für ein bearishes Reversal gilt: Nach einer positiven Kerze kommt es in der Folgeperiode zu einer negativen Kerze, die unterhalb der Vorkerze schließt. Damit eine gewisse Signifikanz gegeben ist, müssen beide Kerzen jeweils eine frei definierbare Mindestgröße erreicht haben. Diese wird mithilfe der Average True Range (ATR) ermittelt. Sind diese Bedingungen erfüllt, wird ein Symbol im Chart eingezeichnet. Für bullishe Reversals gelten die umgekehrten Regeln.

ABB. 4: 2 BAR REVERSAL INDIKATOR BEIM BASELOAD FRONTJAHRESKONTRAKT CAL 18.

Alle erkannten Umkehrmuster werden automatisch im Chart dargestellt.

EQUILLA CODE FÜR DEN 2 BAR REVERSAL INDIKATOR.

Meta:​​ subchart(false);

Inputs:​​ ATRmultiple(0.5),VolaPeriod(10);

Vars:​​ ATR,BearReversal,BullReversal;

ATR=avgTrueRange(VolaPeriod);

BearReversal=(close[1]>open[1]+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close<open-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open<close[1]);

BullReversal=(close[1]<open[1]-ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ close>open+ATRmultiple*ATR

and​​ open>close[1]);

If​​ BearReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(high,"",symboldiamond,10,red,red);

end;

if​​ BullReversal​​ then

begin

drawsymbol(low,"",symboldiamond,10,green,green);

end;

ÜBRIGENS:
Für die Erstellung eines Backtests genügt in diesem konkreten Fall lediglich die Erweiterung des Codes um folgende Befehle, z.B.

If​​ BearReversal​​ then short next bar​​ at​​ low​​ stop;

If​​ BullReversal​​ then buy next bar​​ at​​ high​​ stop;

INDIKATOREN ERSTELLEN UND BACKTESTEN.

Zur Überprüfung der Robustheit und Performance des Patterns können Sie auf bereits vorinstallierte Ausstiegsmodule zurückgreifen. Bei dem nachfolgen Screenshot erfolgt der Ausstieg zum Open des Folgetages.

ABB. 5: 2 BAR REVERSAL STRATEGIE BEIM BASELOAD FRONJAHRESKONTRAKT CAL 18.

Mit der Erweiterung des Indikators um Kauf- bzw. Verkaufsbefehle und dem Einsatz eines einfachen Ausstiegs zum Folgetag kann das
2 Bar Reversal Pattern einem Backtest unterzogen werden.

Wie Sie sehen, liefert Tradesignal alle Tools zur Erstellung Ihrer persönlichen Grafiktools. Mithilfe der vorgestellten Beispiele können Sie Ihre Ideen schnell in die Tat umsetzen. Nur wenige Zeilen genügen außerdem, um die erstellten Indikatoren zu einer einfachen Handelsstrategie zu erweitern. Damit können Sie im Handumdrehen backtesten, wie sich die Indikatoren in der Vergangenheit geschlagen haben.

Take care, take profit und auf Wiedersehen.
David Pieper

ARTIKEL ALS PDF DOWNLOADEN.

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Dieses Werk bzw. dessen Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Unported Lizenz:
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/deed.de

Tradesignal® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Tradesignal GmbH. Nicht autorisierte Nutzung oder Missbrauch ist ausdrücklich verboten. Alle weiteren auf diesen Seiten genannten und ggf. durch Dritte geschützten Marken- und Warenzeichen unterliegen uneingeschränkt den Bestimmungen des jeweils gültigen Kennzeichenrechts und den Besitzrechten der jeweiligen eingetragenen Eigentümer.

Tradesignal Ltd. erhält Informationen aus Quellen, die es für zuverlässig hält, übernimmt jedoch keine Garantie für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der darin enthaltenen Informationen. Tradesignal Ltd. und ihre verbundenen Unternehmen stellen keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen oder Analysen dar, einschließlich der implizierten Garantien für die Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und die Handelsüblichkeit. Tradesignal Ltd. oder ihre verbundenen Unternehmen haften in keinem Fall für Entscheidungen oder Maßnahmen, die im Vertrauen auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen, entgangene Gewinne oder indirekte, Folgeschäden, besondere oder zufällige Schäden, sei es im Vertrag, in unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, getroffen werden, auch wenn auf die Möglichkeit solcher Schäden hingewiesen wird. Dieses Material stellt weder ein Angebot noch eine Aufforderung zur Abgabe eines Angebots oder eine Empfehlung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Wertpapieren dar. Alle Äußerungen sind freibleibend.

Die Equilla Codes werden kostenlos und „wie besehen“ zur Verfügung gestellt, ohne Gewährleistung jeglicher Art, ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Garantien der Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und Nichtverletzung. In keinem Fall haftet Tradesignal Ltd. für Ansprüche, Schäden oder sonstige Haftung, sei es in einer Vertragsklage, unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, die sich aus oder im Zusammenhang mit diesem Code oder der Verwendung dieses Codes ergibt.

leo ut id vel, sit et,