Algorithmic Trading Tips 20.

CHECKING ROBUSTNESS WITH MONTE CARLO NOISE.

Put your strategy on the test bench.

This Trading Tips issue focuses on checking the robustness of a trading system, using Monte Carlo simulations in Tradesignal, when noise is added to the price data. For this purpose the underlying price history is modified by adding noise. This procedure can be repeated many times by using randomly generated values and shows how stable the results of your strategy are, if the price history changes.

DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Thomson Reuters.)
DOWNLOAD WORKSPACE. (For users with Bloomberg.)

By downloading you agree to the terms of use below.

THE PROBLEM OF CURVE FITTING.

The amazing computer power we have at our hands nowadays makes it feasible to backtest limitless ideas, optimize them and find which ones (and which parameters of them) worked best in the past and so “fitting” by a great amount the systems’ parameters onto the past “curve” of price data. Of course you can’t altogether eliminate the curve fitting of a system to historical data because the systems are in the first place designed by examining what worked well in the past.

Overfitting, however, is a problem. This is because the greater the fitting of a system to the past, the greater its historical performance but also the greater the risk that it will not perform well in the future because the future price movements are not exactly the same as the past ones.

 

OVEROPTIMIZED OR NOT? ROBUSTNESS CHECK PROVIDES THE ANSWER.

The greatest fear of all systematic traders is that their trading system will stop working when the technical conditions change. This is because the systems are designed on past data and there is the danger of what is called “Curve Fitting”. The use of so-called robustness checks provides information about how the trading strategy is “immune” towards changes in the price data. Apart from using as few parameters as possible for a system and extensively testing it on Out-Of-Sample data (that is, on data which was not used to find its best set of parameters) there are also three common tests you can do to increase the odds that a system is not overly curve fitted and thus it is robust to changes in future price behavior.

The first test regards examining the system’s performance in symbols of the same nature as the one your system is designed to trade. So, for example, suppose that you designed a system to trade commodity A. When it performed well on A (In-sample and even Out-Of-Sample) but failed on a commodity B with the same characteristics as A then this is a cautionary flag that the system may be prone to future losses if you use it to trade commodity A since it failed to capture the primary forces which move the prices of B. You can’t expect a system to be profitable in all kind of markets but at least it should be able to have a decent performance in all symbols of the same nature because such symbols are usually traded by the same market participants and share common traits.

The second (and most popular in technical analysis software) robustness test regards checking the performance of a system when its parameters are changed a bit (for more information download How To 03 “Stresstesting”). Tradesignal’s optimization feature does a pretty good job in giving the user sophisticated means to perform such a test. When for example a simple moving average (SMA) crossover system performs pretty well using a short term SMA of 5 bars and a long term SMA of 35 bars but performs miserably for a short term SMA of 6 bars and a long term SMA of 36 bars it is an indirect indication that the 5/35 combination is curve fitted and thus the odds it will fail in the future are quite increased.

The third robustness test (an example of which we will focus below) regards checking the performance of a system when the price data are changed. This is a more direct test and more sophisticated than the previous ones since there are numerous ways for price data to be changed. To perform it you need to conduct a vast number of backtests using Monte Carlo simulations.

 

MONTE CARLO SIMULATION.

Broadly speaking, Monte Carlo simulations (a.k.a Monte Carlo methods or Monte Carlo experiments) refer to repeated simulations to obtain numerical results. For conducting the third robustness test this translates to defining what general kind or price changes you want your system to be tested upon, make as many such changes as possible (from very small to very big) to the price data, backtest your system on these changed data and finally examine the magnitude of change of your system’s performance in relation to the magnitude of price changes. In the sequence I will show you an example of such a test in Tradesignal.

 

ADDING A FRACTION OF ATR AS NOISE TO THE PRICE.

Consider a trading symbol named SYMBOL. We want to create a new artificial symbol (let’s name it SYMBOLnew) by changing the OPEN, HIGH, LOW, CLOSE values of each price bar of the SYMBOL. The new values for them (namely OPENnew, HIGHnew, LOWnew and CLOSEnew respectively) will be the same as the old ones plus or minus a random fraction of the Average True Range (ATR) provided that all new values are positive numbers and the logical order is maintained (that is, the LOWnew is positive and equals their minimum and the HIGHnew equals their maximum). To create the SYMBOLnew in Tradesignal all you need to do is write an indicator which will construct the OPENnew, HIGHnew, LOWnew, CLOSEnew and it will draw a Candlestick chart based on these values. I have created such an indicator (namely Noisy Symbol). By dragging and dropping the Noisy Symbol onto the chart of a trading symbol a new sub chart showing the SYMBOLnew is created. The indicator has three input parameters:

ATR_PERIOD

Its default value is 1 and defines the period of the ATR which will be used. The native AvgTrueRange function of Tradesignal is used to calculate the ATR.

ATR_FACTORCUTOFF

Its default value is 0.3 and defines the maximum fraction of the ATR which will be used to generate the noise. A zero value for this parameter results in zero noise, that is, the Noise Symbol will be the same as the initial symbol. For example, if this parameter is 0.3 then the random numbers which will be added or subtracted from the OPEN, HIGH, LOW, CLOSE to produce their new values won’t be higher than 0.3 times the ATR.

MAINTAINOCORDER

This parameter determines whether the initial order of Open and Close should be maintained or not (default: false). If set to TRUE it maintains the initial order of OPEN and CLOSE.

ITERATIONS

This is a dummy input which will be used in the Optimizer to perform the Monte Carlo simulation. When the indicator is applied in a chart the value of this input doesn’t affect anything.

TIP:
In Figure 1 (next page) you can see the Noisy Symbol applied in a daily chart of ADIDAS with its default values. Each time the Noisy Symbol is calculated or recalculated (for example when you change one of its parameters or you press the Reload button) a new “noisy” version of ADIDAS is created.

Since the Noisy Symbol is not a static symbol but an indicator which changes each time it is calculated you can now use the Tradesignal’s optimization feature to perform a Monte Carlo simulation for a trading strategy and see how the performance of the strategy changes when an ATR noise is added to the price.

FIGURE 1: THE NOISY SYMBOL APPLIED IN A DAILY CHART OF ADIDAS WITH ITS DEFAULT VALUES.

PRACTICAL EXAMPLE:
PERFORMING A MONTE CARLO SIMULATION.

As an example let us consider the daily chart of ADIDAS and the Tradesignal’s “Adaptive MA Cross – Entry” (with default values) strategy.

  • 01. Open a daily chart of ADIDAS and drag and drop the Noisy Symbol indicator onto the chart of ADIDAS to create the candlestick chart of Noisy Symbol which is of course a noisy version of ADIDAS
  • 02. Proceed to drag and drop the “Adaptive MA Cross – Entry” strategy onto the chart of Noisy Symbol. Note that if you press the Reload button (or change the input parameters of the Noisy Symbol) the Noisy Symbol is recalculated and a new “noisy” version of ADIDAS along with new updated strategy signals are created.

FIGURE 2: YOU CAN APPLY A STRATEGY TO THE NOISY SYMBOL BY SIMPLY DRAGGING AND DROPPING.

  • 03. You can now click the Optimize button,  select Brute Force in the Optimizer Wizard and click Next. In the next window of the Optimizer Wizard remove all parameters from the Selected Parameters menu except ATR_FactorCutoff and Iterations.

FIGURE 3: SELECTING PARAMETERS IN THE OPTIMIZER

  • 04. In the next step use the following Start, End and Step values for ATR_FactorCutoff and Iterations parameters:
  • 05. Starting the optimization procedure (which is now designed to work as a Monte Carlo simulation) will backtest the “Adaptive MA Cross – Entry” strategy against 20,000 versions of noisy ADIDAS charts. In figure 4 you can see the dispersion of Total Net Profit metric of such an optimization I made with 2000 bars of historical data presented as a heat map with the aid of Tradesignal’s “3D (Surface) Diagram” visualization feature.

FIGURE 4: DISPERSION OF PROFITS FOR THE MONTE CARLO SIMULATION EXAMPLE ON ADIDAS.

Tradesignal’s “3D (Surface) Diagram” visualization feature offers a quick way to see the dispersion of profitability for a strategy when it is applied on thousands of noisy versions of a symbol.

ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES OF MODIFICATION.

The technique presented here opens a door of endless possibilities. You can tweak the code of Noisy Symbol to produce any type of changes to the original price data to test your strategy’s robustness from various angles. You can also create new metrics to monitor for your Monte Carlo simulations. For example, if you want to examine maximum drawdown, consider adding the following three variables in the beginning of your strategy’s code:

var:​​ HHsf(0),OEq(0);

var:​​ AllTrades::MaxDD(0),TMAXDD(0);

If you add the following in the end of your strategy code, you will have a global variable MaxDD at your disposal:

OEq:=OpenEquity;

HHsf:=Maxlist(OEq,HHsf);

If​​ (HHsf-OEq>TMAXDD)​​ then​​ TMAXDD:=HHsf-OEq;

if IsLastBar then AllTrades::MaxDD:=-TMAXDD;

The MaxDD calculates the Maximum Equity DrawDown (largest peak to trough distance) of the open profit equity curve for the strategy and it will be available from the optimization heatmap.

Meta:​​ Synopsis("Adds ATR noise to the price data"),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Categories("Monte Carlo, Intalus Trading Tips"),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Author  ​​ ​​​​ ("Giorgos Siligardos");​​ 

 

Input:​​ ATR_Period(1,1),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ ATR_FactorCutOff(0.3,0.0),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ MaintainOCorder(FALSE),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Iterations (1,1);

 

var:​​ nO,nH,nL,nC,

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ NoiseAbsSpan(0),FoundPrice(FALSE),noise,randsign,x;

 

//Set Noise Span

NoiseAbsSpan:=AvgTrueRange(ATR_Period)*ATR_FactorCutOff;

 

//Randomizer

x:=Iterations;

 

{OPEN}

FoundPrice:=FALSE;

While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​​​ begin

 ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​​​ nO:=randsign*noise+OPEN;

 ​​​​ If​​ nO>0​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​​​ end;

 

{HIGH}

If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

nH:=MaxList(randsign*noise+HIGH,nO);

 

{LOW}

FoundPrice:=FALSE;

While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​​​ begin

 ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​​​ nL:=MinList(randsign*noise+LOW,nO);

 ​​​​ If​​ (nL>0)​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​​​ end;

 

{CLOSE}

If​​ MaintainOCorder​​ and​​ C=O​​ then​​ nC:=nO

else

 ​​ ​​​​ begin  ​​​​ 

 ​​ ​​​​ FoundPrice:=FALSE;

 ​​ ​​​​ While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ begin

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ nC:=MaxList(MinList(randsign*noise+CLOSE,nH),nL);

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If​​ MaintainOCorder​​ AND​​ ((C-O)*(nC-nO))<0​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=FALSE;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ end;

 ​​ ​​​​ end;

//Draw New Symbol

DRAWCANDLESTICK(nO,nH,nL,nC,COLORWHITE,COLORRED,COLORBLUE);

FIGURE 5: FREQUENCY DISTRIBUTION HEATMAP AND FURTHER ANALYSIS

Clicking the Export Data you can export all the results from the Monte Carlo simulation in csv format which can be immediately accessed from MS EXCEL to conduct further statistical analysis. This Frequency Distribution Heatmap (along with the bar chart) was created by EXCEL and refers to the results of the Monte Carlo simulation example on ADIDAS.

 

DATA EXPORT ALLOWS FURTHER ANALYSIS OPTIONS.

Finally, clicking the Export Data you can export all the results from the Monte Carlo simulation in csv format which can be immediately accessed from MS EXCEL to conduct further statistical analysis. In figure 4 for example you can see a frequency distribution heatmap created with EXCEL after exporting the results of the ADIDAS Monte Carlo simulation.

That’s it for today. Take care, take profit and “Eις το επανιδείν”.
Giorgos Siligardos

DOWNLOAD ARTICLE AS PDF.

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Distribution allowed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Tradesignal® is a registered trademark of Tradesignal GmbH. Unauthorized use or misuse is specifically prohibited. All other protected brands and trademarks mentioned in this document conform, without restriction, to the provisions of applicable trademark law and the copyrights of the respective registered owners.

Tradesignal Ltd. obtains information from sources it considers reliable, but does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of its information contained therein. Tradesignal Ltd. and its affiliates make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, with respect to the information or analysis supplied herein, including without limitation the implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and merchantability, and each specifically disclaims any such warranty. In no event shall Tradesignal Ltd. or its affiliates be liable to for any decision made or action taken in reliance upon the information contained herein, lost profits or any indirect, consequential, special or incidental damages, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, even if advised of the possibility of such damages. This material does not constitute an offer or a solicitation of an offer or a recommendation to buy or sell securities. All expressions of opinion are subject to change without notice.

This code is provided free of charge and “as is”, without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and noninfringement. In no event, shall Tradesignal Ltd. be liable for any claim, damages or other liability, whether in an action of contract, tort or otherwise, arising from, or of or in connection with this code or the use of this code.

.

non Donec commodo ut Nullam fringilla

Algorithmic Trading Tips 20.

MIT MONTE CARLO NOISE ZUR ROBUSTHEIT.

Stellen Sie die Robustheit Ihrer Handelsstrategie auf den Prüfstand.

Diese Ausgabe zeigt auf, wie Sie mithilfe der Monte Carlo Simulation die Robustheit Ihrer Handelsstrategie überprüfen können. Hierzu wird die Datenhistorie in Tradesignal mit einem Rauschanteil versehen. Der Vorgang lässt sich mithilfe zufällig generierter Werte beliebig oft wiederholen und zeigt dadurch, wie stabil die Ergebnisse Ihrer Strategie ausfallen, wenn sich die Datenreihe verändert.

ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Thomson Reuters.)
ARBEITSBEREICH LADEN. (Für Anwender mit Bloomberg.)

Mit dem Download erkennen Sie die unten aufrufbaren Nutzungsbedingungen an.

Das Problem des Curve Fitting.

Die Rechenpower heutiger Computer ermöglicht das Backtesten unzähliger Ideen. Gleichzeitig lassen sich dadurch diejenigen Strategien (und Parameter) identifizieren, die in der Vergangenheit am besten abgeschnitten haben; dadurch werden die Strategieparameter zu einem beträchtlichen Teil an die Kurshistorie („curve“) angepasst („fitting“). Dieser Effekt der Überanpassung lässt sich nie vollständig eliminieren, schließlich basiert die Entwicklung der Handelsstrategien gerade auf der Untersuchung von Mustern, die sich in der Vergangenheit bewährt haben.

Eine Überanpassung („Overfitting“) ist allerdings ein Problem. Der Grund: Je stärker die Anpassung an die Vergangenheit, desto besser die historische Performance. Umso höher aber auch die Gefahr des Misserfolgs in der Zukunft, schließlich werden sich die Kursbewegungen der Vergangenheit nicht exakt in der Zukunft wiederholen.

Zu starke Optimierung oder nicht? Der Robustheitstest liefert die Antwort.

Die größte Sorge aller systematischen Trader ist, dass ihre Handelsstrategie nicht mehr funktioniert, sobald sich die Marktbedingungen ändern. Der Einsatz sogenannter Robustheitschecks gibt Tradern Informationen darüber, wie „immun“ die Handelsstrategie gegenüber Veränderungen der Preisentwicklung ist.

Neben der Beschränkung auf möglichst wenige Parameter innerhalb der Handelsstrategie und dem Test auf Out-of-Sample-Daten (d.h. „unbekannten“ Daten, die nicht für das Auffinden des besten Parametersets verwendet wurden) gibt es drei Testverfahren, die sicherstellen, dass die Strategie nicht zu sehr angepasst wurde und damit gegenüber Veränderungen des zukünftigen Kursverhalten Robustheit zeigt.

Der erste Test untersucht die Performance der Handelsstrategie auf unterschiedlichen Märkten bzw. Wertpapieren, die einen ähnlichen Charakter haben wie jenes, für das die Handelsstrategie konzipiert wurde. Betrachten wir exemplarisch eine Strategie, die den Rohstoff A handeln soll. Wenn diese beim Rohstoff A gute Ergebnisse lieferte (sowohl In Sample als auch Out of Sample), beim verwandten Rohstoff B dagegen versagte, ist dies ein Warnhinweis, dass die Strategie für zukünftige Verluste anfällig sein könnte. Man kann zwar nicht erwarten, dass eine Handelsstrategie in allen Märkten profitabel ist, sie sollte aber zumindest eine brauchbare Performance in allen verwandten Märkten generieren. Schließlich werden diese Märkte von denselben Marktteilnehmern gehandelt und verfügen somit auch über gemeinsame Merkmale.

Der zweite und am häufigsten genutzte Robustheitstest überprüft die Performance einer Handelsstrategie, wenn deren Parameter geändert werden (siehe Ausgabe How To 03 „Stresstesting“). Der Optimizer von Tradesignal bietet alle Möglichkeiten für solch einen Test. Hierzu ein einfaches Beispiel: Zeigt eine SMA Crossover Strategie sehr gute Ergebnisse bei Verwendung eines 5- und 35-Perioden-SMA, während die Variante 6/36 nur ungenügende Resultate generiert, so ist dies ein indirekter Hinweis darauf, dass die Kombination 5/35 überoptimiert ist. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass diese Handelsstrategie in Zukunft scheitern dürfte, ist somit deutlich erhöht.
Der dritte Robustheitstest – dieser wird nachfolgend im Fokus stehen – untersucht die Performance einer Handelsstrategie, wenn die zugrundeliegenden Kursdaten geändert werden. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen anspruchsvolleren Test, da zahlreiche Möglichkeiten der Datenmodifizierung existieren. Zur Durchführung dieses Tests bedarf es einer hohen Zahl von Backtests mithilfe der Monte Carlo Simulation.

Monte Carlo Simulation

Die Monte Carlo Simulation ist ein Verfahren aus der Stochastik, bei der mithilfe vieler gleichartiger Zufallsexperimente versucht wird, ein vorgegebenes Problem numerisch zu lösen. Um diese Testvariante durchzuführen, muss zunächst definiert werden, welche Art von Preisänderungen für den Test der Strategie zum Einsatz kommen soll. Darüber hinaus muss sichergestellt werden, dass möglichst viele (sehr kleine bis große) Änderungen implementiert werden. Anschließend wird die Handelsstrategie auf Basis dieser modifizierten Daten Backtests unterzogen. Im letzten Schritt wird das Ausmaß der Performanceveränderung im Vergleich zum Umfang der getätigten Preisänderungen untersucht.
Nachfolgend möchte ich Ihnen ein Beispiel für diesen Test in Tradesignal aufzeigen.

Modifizierung der Kursreihe mit Rauschen auf Basis der ATR

Betrachten wir ein Handelsinstrument namens SYMBOL. Wir möchten ein neues künstliches Instrument mit dem Namen SYMBOLnew erstellen, indem wir die Werte für das Open, High, Low, Close für jede Bar des SYMBOL verändern.

Die neuen Werte (OPENnew, HIGHnew, LOWnew and CLOSEnew) entsprechen den Originaldaten, allerdings wird ein zufälliger Bruchteil der Average True Range (ATR) addiert bzw. subtrahiert – unter der Voraussetzung, dass alle neuen Werte positiv und die logische Reihenfolge beibehalten wird (d.h. LOWnew ist positiv und entspricht dem Minimum, HIGHnew entspricht dem Maximum).
Um das SYMBOLnew in Tradesignal zu erstellen, bedienen wir uns eines Indikators, der die modifizierten Werte für den jeweiligen Open-, High-, Low- und Close-Kurs konstruieren und anschließend als Candlestick Chart wiedergeben wird. Ich habe solch einen Indikator mit dem Namen „Noisy Symbol“ programmiert. Sie können ihn einfach per Drag&Drop in einen Chart mit einem Handelsinstrument einfügen, das modifizierte SYMBOLnew wird dann in einem Subchart dargestellt.

Folgende Eingabeparameter stehen beim Indikator zur Verfügung:

ATR_Period

Dieser Parameter definiert die Periode der Average True Range (Standard: 1). Hierbei kommt die in Tradesignal vorinstallierte Funktion AvgTrueRange zum Einsatz.

ATR_FactorCutoff

Dieser Parameter bestimmt den maximalen Anteil des ATR, der zur Erzeugung des Rauschanteils herangezogen wird (Standard: 0,3). Null bedeutet in diesem Fall, dass das Noisy Symbol exakt der zugrundeliegenden Datenreihe gleicht. Bei der Wahl von 0,3 beträgt das aus den Zufallszahlen berechnete Rauschen, das auf den Kurs (Open, High, Low, Close) addiert bzw. subtrahiert wird, maximal das 0,3fache der Average True Range.

MaintainOCorder

Dieser Parameter bestimmt darüber, ob die ursprüngliche Reihenfolge von Open- und Close-Kursen bei der Monte Carlo Simulation beibehalten werden soll (Standard: false). Wird dieser Parameter auf „true“ gesetzt, werden Eröffnungs- und Schlusskurse in der ursprünglichen Reihenfolge beibehalten.

Iterations

Dies ist ein Dummy Input, der im Optimizer zur Durchführung der Monte Carlo Simulation zum Einsatz kommt. Beim Einfügen des Indikators in einem Chart hat der Wert dieses Inputs keinerlei Auswirkung.

TIPP:
Abb. 1 zeigt das Noisy Symbol mit den Standardparametern angewandt für den Tageschart der Adidas Aktie. Bei jedem Durchgang (z.B. wenn einer der Parameter geändert oder der Reload-Button des Noisy Symbol gedrückt wird) wird eine neue “verrauschte” Version der Adidas-Aktie erstellt.

Da das Noisy Symbol kein statisches Symbol ist, sondern ein Indikator, der sich bei jeder Kalkulation ändert, kann nun der Optimizer in Tradesignal zur Durchführung einer Monte Carlo Simulation eingesetzt werden. Dadurch werden Performanceveränderungen der jeweiligen Handelsstrategie sichtbar, wenn ATR-Rauschen zur Kursreihe hinzugefügt wird.Beim Einfügen des Indikators in einem Chart hat der Wert dieses Inputs keinerlei Auswirkung.

ABB. 1: TAGESCHART DER ADIDAS AKTIE IM ORIGINAL (OBEN) VS. NOISY SYMBOL MIT STANDARDEINSTELLUNGEN (UNTEN).

PRAXISBEISPIEL:
DURCHFÜHRUNG EINER MONTE CARLO SIMULATION.

Betrachten wir nun exemplarisch den Tageschart der Adidas-Aktie und die vorinstallierte Handelsstrategie “Adaptive MA Cross – Entry” mit Standardeinstellungen.

  • 01. Zunächst öffnen wir den Tageschart von Adidas und ziehen den Indikator “Noisy Symbol” per Drag&Drop in den Chart.
    Zu sehen ist nun die mit Rauschen versehen Version des Adidas-Charts.
  • 02. Anschließend ziehen den Indikator “Noisy Symbol” per Drag&Drop in den Chart. Zu sehen ist nun die mit Rauschen versehene Version des Adidas-Charts. Bei Betätigung des Reload Buttons (oder einer Änderung der Eingabeparameter des Noisy Symbol) wird das Noisy Symbol neu berechnet und eine neue, “verrauschte” Version des Adidas-Charts erstellt.Alle Handelssignale werden dementsprechend angepasst und im Chart angezeigt.

ABB. 2: ANWENDUNG EINER HANDELSSTRATEGIE AUF DAS NOISY SYMBOL PER DRAG AND DROP.

  • 03. Wir öffnen Optimizer in der Werkzeugleiste, und wählen dort den „Brute Force“ Modus. Bei den zu optimierenden Parametern wählen wir ATR_FactorCutoff und Iterations.

ABB. 3: AUSWAHL DER PARAMETER IM OPTIMIZER.

  • 04. Im nächsten Schritt legen wir das Start- und Enddatum fest und definieren, in welchen Schritten die beiden Parameter getestet werden sollen:
  • 05. Wir starten den Optimierungsprozess, der nun als Monte Carlo Simulation ausgeführt wird. Hierbei wird also die Strategie “Adaptive MA Cross – Entry“ auf insgesamt 20.000 Versionen des verrauschten Adidas Charts getestet. Abbildung 4 zeigt die Verteilung des Gesamtnettogewinns dieser Optimierung als Heatmap. Die Optimierung wurde auf Basis von 2.000 Bars historischer Daten durchgeführt.

ABB. 4: STREUUNG DER GEWINNE BEI DER MONTE CARLO SIMULATION DER ADIDAS-AKTIE.

Die farbliche Visualisierung der Heatmap bietet einen schnellen Überblick der Streuung der Profitabilität einer Handelsstrategie, wenn diese auf Tausenden, mit Rauschen versehenen Varianten der Original-Kursreihe angewandt wurde. Im vorliegenden Beispiel wurden insgesamt 20.000 Durchläufe generiert.

VIELZAHL VON MODIFIZIERUNGSMÖGLICHKEITEN.

Die vorgestellte Methode eröffnet Ihnen unzählige Möglichkeiten. Sie können den Code des Noisy Symbol Indikators “frisieren” und dadurch jede erdenkliche Art der Änderung der Original-Datenreihe herbeiführen, um die Robustheit einer Handelsstrategie aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln zu testen. Selbstverständlich lassen sich auch neue Kennzahlen zur Steuerung der Monte Carlo Simulation erstellen. Anstatt wie üblich den Nettogewinn zu betrachten, legen wir den Fokus nun auf den maximalen Drawdown einer Handelsstrategie. Folgende drei Variablen werden hierfür am Anfang Ihres Strategie-Codes eingefügt:

var:​​ HHsf(0),OEq(0);

var:​​ AllTrades::MaxDD(0),TMAXDD(0);

Wenn Sie dann noch die folgenden Zeilen am Ende des Strategie-Codes einfügen, steht Ihnen eine globale Variable MaxDD zur Verfügung:

OEq:=OpenEquity;

HHsf:=Maxlist(OEq,HHsf);

If​​ (HHsf-OEq>TMAXDD)​​ then​​ TMAXDD:=HHsf-OEq;

if IsLastBar then AllTrades::MaxDD:=-TMAXDD;

Sie kalkuliert den maximalen Drawdown der Open Equity (d.h. Abstand zwischen einem Gipfel und einem Tief in der Kapitalkurve) der Handelsstrategie und kann in der Heatmap des Optimizers eingesehen werden.

Meta:​​ Synopsis("Adds ATR noise to the price data"),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Categories("Monte Carlo, Intalus Trading Tips"),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Author  ​​ ​​​​ ("Giorgos Siligardos");​​ 

 

Input:​​ ATR_Period(1,1),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ ATR_FactorCutOff(0.3,0.0),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ MaintainOCorder(FALSE),

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ Iterations (1,1);

 

var:​​ nO,nH,nL,nC,

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ NoiseAbsSpan(0),FoundPrice(FALSE),noise,randsign,x;

 

//Set Noise Span

NoiseAbsSpan:=AvgTrueRange(ATR_Period)*ATR_FactorCutOff;

 

//Randomizer

x:=Iterations;

 

{OPEN}

FoundPrice:=FALSE;

While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​​​ begin

 ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​​​ nO:=randsign*noise+OPEN;

 ​​​​ If​​ nO>0​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​​​ end;

 

{HIGH}

If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

nH:=MaxList(randsign*noise+HIGH,nO);

 

{LOW}

FoundPrice:=FALSE;

While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​​​ begin

 ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​​​ nL:=MinList(randsign*noise+LOW,nO);

 ​​​​ If​​ (nL>0)​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​​​ end;

 

{CLOSE}

If​​ MaintainOCorder​​ and​​ C=O​​ then​​ nC:=nO

else

 ​​ ​​​​ begin  ​​​​ 

 ​​ ​​​​ FoundPrice:=FALSE;

 ​​ ​​​​ While​​ FoundPrice=FALSE​​ do

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ begin

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If​​ NoiseAbsSpan=0​​ then​​ noise:=0​​ else​​ noise:=RANDOM(NoiseAbsSpan);

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If RANDOM(1)>0.5​​ then​​ randsign:=+1​​ else​​ randsign:=-1;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ nC:=MaxList(MinList(randsign*noise+CLOSE,nH),nL);

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ FoundPrice:=TRUE;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ If​​ MaintainOCorder​​ AND​​ ((C-O)*(nC-nO))<0​​ then​​ FoundPrice:=FALSE;

 ​​ ​​ ​​ ​​​​ end;

 ​​ ​​​​ end;

//Draw New Symbol

DRAWCANDLESTICK(nO,nH,nL,nC,COLORWHITE,COLORRED,COLORBLUE);

ABB. 5: HEATMAP DER HÄUFIGKEITSVERTEILUNG MIT WEITERER ANALYSE.

Die Ergebnisse der Monte Carlo Simulation können im CSV Format exportiert und damit für weitergehende Analysezwecke in MS Excel verwendet werden. Das vorliegende Beispiel wurde auf Basis der Ergebnisse in Excel erstellt.

DATENEXPORT ERMÖGLICHT WEITERE ANALYSEOPTIONEN.

Zum Schluss können alle Ergebnisse der Monte Carlo Simulation durch einen Klick auf „Export Data“ im CSV-Format exportiert und in MS Excel für weitere statistische Analysen verwendet werden. Abbildung 4 zeigt exemplarisch eine Heatmap der Häufigkeitsverteilung, die auf Basis der Monte Carlo Simulation für die Adidas-Aktie mithilfe von Excel erstellt wurde.

Das war`s für heute. Take care, take profit and “Eις το επανιδείν”.
Giorgos Siligardos

ARTIKEL ALS PDF DOWNLOADEN.

DISCLAIMER.

© Copyright Tradesignal Ltd., London.
Dieses Werk bzw. dessen Inhalt steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Unported Lizenz:
 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/deed.de

Tradesignal® ist eine eingetragene Marke der Tradesignal GmbH. Nicht autorisierte Nutzung oder Missbrauch ist ausdrücklich verboten. Alle weiteren auf diesen Seiten genannten und ggf. durch Dritte geschützten Marken- und Warenzeichen unterliegen uneingeschränkt den Bestimmungen des jeweils gültigen Kennzeichenrechts und den Besitzrechten der jeweiligen eingetragenen Eigentümer.

Tradesignal Ltd. erhält Informationen aus Quellen, die es für zuverlässig hält, übernimmt jedoch keine Garantie für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der darin enthaltenen Informationen. Tradesignal Ltd. und ihre verbundenen Unternehmen stellen keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen oder Analysen dar, einschließlich der implizierten Garantien für die Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und die Handelsüblichkeit. Tradesignal Ltd. oder ihre verbundenen Unternehmen haften in keinem Fall für Entscheidungen oder Maßnahmen, die im Vertrauen auf die hierin enthaltenen Informationen, entgangene Gewinne oder indirekte, Folgeschäden, besondere oder zufällige Schäden, sei es im Vertrag, in unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, getroffen werden, auch wenn auf die Möglichkeit solcher Schäden hingewiesen wird. Dieses Material stellt weder ein Angebot noch eine Aufforderung zur Abgabe eines Angebots oder eine Empfehlung zum Kauf oder Verkauf von Wertpapieren dar. Alle Äußerungen sind freibleibend.

Die Equilla Codes werden kostenlos und „wie besehen“ zur Verfügung gestellt, ohne Gewährleistung jeglicher Art, ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Garantien der Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck und Nichtverletzung. In keinem Fall haftet Tradesignal Ltd. für Ansprüche, Schäden oder sonstige Haftung, sei es in einer Vertragsklage, unerlaubter Handlung oder auf andere Weise, die sich aus oder im Zusammenhang mit diesem Code oder der Verwendung dieses Codes ergibt.

Nullam ipsum Curabitur mattis ipsum commodo